Connect With Dublin GAA

Visit DubsTV
County News
Senior hurling starting side named to face the Cats

Senior hurling starting side named to face the Cats

Sat, 25th January 2020

Dublin have selected ten of the starting team from last summer's SHC exit for Sunday's HL Division 1 Group B opener against Kilkenny in UPMC Nowlan Park (2.0).

Alan Nolan, Paddy Smyth, James Madden, Chris Crummey, Jake Malone, Tomás Connolly, Danny Sutcliffe, Ronan Hayes, Cian Boland, Oisín O'Rorke and Eamonn Dillon all started against the O'Moore County in last July's All-Ireland SHC preliminary quarter-final.

Eoghan O'Donnell, Daire Gray, Jake Malone, Fergal Whitely and Riain McBride are the players who did not start against Laois in that game.

The Dublin attack will be led by recently appointed team captain Danny Sutcliffe.

In the recent Walsh Cup Dublin defeated Westmeath, Carlow and Laois to top the group phase before losing a semi-final to Galway (0-19 to 0-18) in Parnell Park, when both sides were without their FItzgibbon Cup men.

Over the course of their four games 35 different players enjoyed game-time with Dublin scoring 5-88 and conceding 0-71.

Oisín O'Rorke was Dublin's top scorer with 0-25 (0-10f) while Eamonn Dillon (two), John Hetherton, Donal Burke and Aidan Mellett were the goalscorers.


Round 1:
Kilkenny v Dublin, Sunday, January 26, UPMC Nowlan Park, 2.0
Round 2: Dublin v Laois, Sunday, February 2, Parnell Park, 2.0
Round 3: Carlow v Dublin, Saturday, February 15, Netwatch Cullen Park, 5.0
Round 4: Dublin v Wexford, Saturday, February 22, Croke Park, 5.0
Round 5: Clare v Dublin, Sunday, March 1, Cusack Park Ennis, 2.0


DUBLIN (SH v Kilkenny)

1 Alan Nolan St Brigid's

2 Paddy Smyth Clontarf

3 Eoghan O'Donnell Whitehall Colmcille

4 James Madden Ballyboden St Enda's

5 Chris Crummey Lucan Sarsfields

6 Daire Gray Whitehall Colmcille

7 Jake Malone Cuala

8 Fergal Whitely Kilmacud Crokes

9 Riain McBride St Vincent's

10 Tomás Connolly St Vincent's

11 Danny Sutcliffe St Jude's

12 Ronan Hayes Kilmacud Crokes

13 Cian Boland St Oliver Plunkett/Eoghan Ruadh

14 Oisín O'Rorke Kilmacud Crokes

15 Eamonn Dillon Nh Fionnbarra

Share This With Your Friends

Add To Facebook Share On Twitter