Connect With Dublin GAA

Visit DubsTV
Club News
Ballyboughal and Craobh to fly the flag in Leinster

Ballyboughal and Craobh to fly the flag in Leinster

Fri, 8th November 2019

Dublin intermediate football club champions, Ballyboughal, will hope that their previous provincial championship experience will stand to them when they face Kilkenny senior champions, Mullinavat, this Saturday in Thomastown (1.30).

Two years ago 'Boughal made it to a Leinster club IFC final but fell to Wexford's Kilanerin in Wexford Park. The Dubs led late on but Kilanerin kicked the last five points of the contest, four coming from the boot of Slaneyside legend Mattie Forde, to emerge victorious.

Ballyboughal secured the Dublin IFC club title when edging out Trinity Gaels 1-11 to 1-10 in last Sunday's decider at O'Toole Park.

It was 'Boughal's first success at the grade since 1972 with Gerry Seaver top-scoring for his side with 1-5 (1-0 pen, 0-3f, 0-1 '45').

Inside the last ten minutes the sides were level but Trinity Gaels had lost former Dublin senior Dean Kelly to a second yellow card before the deadball accuracy of Seaver and Ciarán Wynne saw 'Boughal to victory.

It brought to a conclusion a dramatic Dublin IFC campaign for the eventual winners.

Ballyboughal were involved in replays in both their quarter-final and semi-final so they have packed a lot of football into the last few weeks.

Seaver was again to the fore in their drawn semi-final with Clanna Gael Fontenoy when he hit 2-8 in their 3-12 to 1-18 draw.

'Boughal trailed late on in normal time before Timmy O'Sullivan's point forced extra-time. Ballyboughal won the replay 3-15 to 0-22 in St Margaret's.

At the quarter-final stage Ballyboughal drew with St Patrick's, Donabate first time out, 2-16 to 1-19, before seeing of their north county opponents, 1-16 to 3-8, in the replay.

The crucial spell for Ballyboughal in the replay came just at the three-quarter mark when they took over sufficiently put them on the road to victory.

Ben Callinan was 'Boughal's goal-scorer, finishing with a personal tally of 1-3, while Ciarán Wynne (0-6, 0-3f), John Rodgers, sub Gerry Seaver (0-1f) 0-2 each, Cathal Flynn, Timmy O'Sullivan and Greg Rooney contributed to the scoring tally.

On Saturday also Craobh Chiaráin will too be 'flying the flag' for Dublin when they face Wexford's Rathgarogue-Cushintown in their Leinster JFC quarter-finals in O'Kennedy Park, New Ross (1.30).

Craobh, who are managed by Anto McCord, defeated St Brendan's, 1-13 to 1-6, in St Margaret's in the Dublin JFC1 Club final. In their semi-final the Donnycarney men eventually got the better of Man O' War, 2-17 to 1-12, after extra-time while during the group stage they enjoyed victories over Garristown (3-10 to 3-8), Bank of Ireland (4-16 to 1-2), and Ranelagh Gaels (4-20 to 1-4).



AIB Leinster Club Junior Football Championship Quarter Finals

Lakepoint Park Mullingar (1.30) Ballynacargy (Westmeath) v Clann na nGael (Meath) Ref: Stephen Johnson (Louth)

Newtowncashel (1.30) Kenagh (Longford) v Ballymore Eustace (Kildare) Ref: Marius Stones (Offaly) 

O'Kennedy Park New Ross (1.30) Rathgarogue-Cushinstown (Wexford) v Craobh Chiaráin (Dublin) Ref: David Fedigan (Louth)

Faithful Fields Kilcormac (1.30) Shannonbridge (Offaly) v Roche Emmets (Louth) Ref: Keith O Brien (Westmeath)

AIB Leinster Club Intermediate Football Championship Quarter Finals

Stabannon Parnells (2.0) Mattock Rangers (Louth) v Monasterevan (Kildare) Ref: Patrick Coyle (Meath)

Joule Park Aughrim (1.30) Dunlavin (Wicklow) v Nobber (Meath) Ref: David O'Connor (Dublin) 

Thomastown (1.30) Mullinavat (Kilkenny) v Ballyboughal (Dublin) Ref: Fintan Pierce (Offaly) 

Emmet Og Killoe (1.30) Fr Manning Gaels (Longford) v Rosenallis (Laois) Ref: Stephen Murphy (Louth)


AIB Leinster Club Senior Football Championship Quarter Finals

Joule Park Aughrim (1.30) St Patrick's (Wicklow) v Portlaoise (Laois) Ref: John Hickey (Ceatharloch)

Netwatch Cullen Park (2.0) Eire Og (Carlow) v Sarsfields (Kildare) Ref: Anthony Nolan (Cill Mhantain)

TEG Cusack Park Mullingar (1.30) Garrycastle (Westmeath) v Ratoath (Meath) Ref: Brendan Cawley (Kildare) 

Gaelic Grounds Drogheda (1.30) Newtown Blues (Louth) v Ballyboden St Enda's (Dublin) Ref: David Coldrick (Meath)

Extra-time and winner on the day if necessary

Share This With Your Friends

Add To Facebook Share On Twitter