Connect With Dublin GAA

Visit DubsTV
Club News
Ballyhale too strong for Boden in Leinster SHC decider

Ballyhale too strong for Boden in Leinster SHC decider

Sun, 2nd December 2018


Ballyboden St Enda’s had their provincial title dreams crushed by Kilkenny’s Ballyhale Shamrocks in Sunday’s AIB Leinster club SHC final at Netwatch Cullen Park.

Boden were level after 25 minutes following Niall McMorrow’s equaliser but Ballyhale finished the opening half on top to lead 1-9 to 0-8 before maintaining their momentum to cruise to victory in the second-half.

The scoring was practically all one-way unfortunately in the second-half with Boden played into a strengthening wind and heavy rain. Niall Ryan pointed for Boden in the 39th minute but the Dublin champions failed to score again until Paul Ryan converted a 58th minute free.

Henry Shefflin’s side dominated with Adrian Mullen adding his second goal in the 54th minute as Ballyhale Shamrocks were crowned Leinster champions for the ninth time, and for the first time since 2014.

Ballyhale Shamrocks led 1-9 to 0-8 at half-time with the only goal coming in the eighth minute from Adrian Mullen.

That gave the Cats a 1-2 to 0-1 advantage but Boden responded with the next two scores through a Paul Ryan free, following a foul on Niall McMorrow, and a Colm Basquel score from play.

It was an evenly balanced opening half and by the 22nd minute St Enda’s were level following a succession of scores from Ryan (two frees) and a fine Shane Durkin point to make it 0-7 to 1-4.

TJ Reid converted a free to edge Shamrocks ahead before McMorrow had them level again in the 27th minute.

However, Ballyhale finished the half on top with scores from TJ Reid (free), and two from Eoin Reid before TJ closed the scoring in the half to push his side four clear.

SCORERS: Ballyhale Shamrocks:TJ Reid 0-9 (0-8f), A Mullen 2-1, E Reid, E Cody 0-3 each, C Fennelly 0-2, E Shefflin, M Fennelly, R Corcoran 0-1 each. Ballyboden St Enda’s: P Ryan 0-5 (0-5f), C Basquel, N Ryan 0-2 each, S Durkin, N McMorrow 0-1 each.

BALLYHALE SHAMROCKS: D Mason; B Butler, J Holden, D Mullen; E Shefflin, M Fennelly, R Reid; C Walsh, R Corcoran; A Mullen, TJ Reid, B Cody; E Reid, C Fennelly, E Cody. Subs: G Butler for Walsh (38), M Aylward for Cody (50), J Cuddihy for E Reid (53), K Mullen for Butler (56), P Mullen for Corcoran (56).

BALLYBODEN ST ENDAS: G Maguire; D O'Connor, L Corcoran, J Madden; S Lambert, D Curtin, D Curran; S Durkin, S O'Connor; C Keaney, C Dooley, N McMorrow; A Mellett, C Basquel, P Ryan. Subs: N Ryan for Dooley (32), P Doherty for Mellett (35), F McGarry for Curran (47), C McCormack for D O'Connor (53), M Travers for S O'Connor (55).

REF:P Murphy (Carlow).


Ballyhale Shamrocks (Kilkenny) (9): 1978, 1980, 1983, 1989, 2006, 2008, 2009, 2014, 2018.

Birr (Offaly) (7): 1991, 1994, 1997, 1999, 2001, 2002, 2007.

Rathnure (Wexford) (6): 1971, 1973, 1977, 1986, 1987, 1998.

St Rynagh’s (Offaly) (4): 1970, 1972, 1982, 1993.

James Stephen’s (Kilkenny) (4): 1975, 1981, 2004, 2005.

Buffer’s Alley (Wexford) (3): 1985, 1988, 1992.

Glenmore (Kilkenny) (2): 1990, 1995.

Camross (Laois) (2): 1976, 1996.

Cuala (Dublin) (2): 2016, 2017.

O’Loughlin Gaels (Kilkenny) (2): 2003, 2010.

Oulart-The-Ballagh (Wexford) (1): 2015.

Kilcormac/Killoughey (Offaly) (1): 2012.

Coolderry (Offaly) (1): 2011.

Fenians (Kilkenny) (1): 1974.

Crumlin (Dublin) (1): 1979.

St Martin’s (Wexford) (1): 1984.

Mount Leinster Rangers (Carlow) (1): 2013.

Graigue-Ballycallan (Kilkenny) (1): 2000.

Share This With Your Friends

Add To Facebook Share On Twitter