Connect With Dublin GAA

Visit DubsTV
Club News
Ballymun hold off battling Boden to capture MFC ‘A’ title

Ballymun hold off battling Boden to capture MFC ‘A’ title

Mon, 9th November 2015

Ballymun Kickhams had to hold off a brave Ballyboden St Enda’s comeback before emerging 5-4 to 2-9 victors in Sunday’s Dublin MFC ‘A’ final at O’Toole Park.

Dublin minors of this year, Conor Kavanagh and Dillon Keating, both hit a brace of goals for Paddy Christie’s side in very difficult conditions.

An early Kavanagh goal gave Kickhams the dream start and by the break had opened up a 2-4 to 0-2 lead with the second goal coming from Keating.

On the restart Ballmun moved 11 points clear when attacking wing-back Dean O’Brien cruised forward to find the net.

However, a Dylan Walsh point began the Boden fightback and when Dublin U16 Ross McGarry goaled in the 40th minute Firhouse Road hopes were lifted.

Mikey Dunne clipped two points (one free) while Dublin minor Barra McGarry and brother Ross also got in on the scoring act to reduce the deficit to just two points with less than ten minutes remaining after their rally had resulted in 1-6 without reply.

But the Mun awoke with a Keating goal ending a 23-minute barren spell and before the finish Kavanagh grabbed his second goal for Ballymun to capture their first 'A' title in 38 years.

Share This With Your Friends

Add To Facebook Share On Twitter