Connect With Dublin GAA

Visit DubsTV
Club News
Boden battle past Raheny in extra-time to book SFC1 last-four slot

Boden battle past Raheny in extra-time to book SFC1 last-four slot

Sun, 30th August 2020


BALLYBODEN ST ENDA’S 2-16 RAHENY 0-16 (After extra-time)

Ballyboden St Enda’s kept their hopes of back-to-back titles alive when they eventually shrugged off the defiant challenge of Raheny in this Dublin SFC1 quarter-final which went to extra-time at Parnell Park on Sunday afternoon.

In extra-time the sides were level (1-13 to 0-16) with five minutes to go after Brian Fenton had a goal chance saved by keeper Darragh Gogan.

Boden heeded the warning to score 1-3 without reply in the dying minutes to battle their way to victory.

Ciarán O’Reilly was the late scoring hero, hitting 1-1 with a Ryan Basquel free and Conal Keaney (who tallied 0-5 overall) fisted point, following a great crossfield pass from Michael Darragh Macauley, securing their passage to the semi-finals.

O’Reilly’s goal came after his point effort rebounded to him off an upright and he reacted to fire the second opportunity to the net past Ciarán Heapes.

Raheny had forced extra-time with sub Seán Grenham playing a starring role, converting a mark and then two points from play along with a long-range Brian Fenton effort to make it all-square, 1-10 to 0-13.

Boden's goal arrived in the 45th minute when Ryan Basquel converted a penalty following a foul on Michael Darragh Macauley.

Boden had a late, late chance for a winner but Ryan Basquel’s free from over 40 metres faded wide. The southsiders had also concluded the half with 14 men after Cathal Flaherty was dismissed (two yellow cards). 

In the first period of extra-time Cian Ivers edged Raheny in front following good approach play from Eoin Keogh.

Ross McGarry slotted a ‘45’ to level it again and by the interval the sides were still deadlocked after Seán Grenham, after combining with Seán McMahon and Eoin Keogh, pointed with Michael Darragh Macauley equalising for Boden (1-12 to 0-15).

However, Boden were reduced to 14 men when Darragh Nelson was black-carded for dragging down Brian Fenton in the last minute of this period.

In normal time, Ballyboden had finished the first-half on the up to lead 0-9 to 0-6. They also went close to getting the opening goal but Brian Bobbett’s shot glanced off the crossbar in the final minute of the opening half.

A Gavin Ivory free, following a foul on James O’Kane, in the 19th minute put Raheny 0-5 to 0-4 ahead.

However, Boden kicked the next four points in quick succession with Cathal Flaherty, Darren O’Reilly, Conal Keaney and Ryan Basquel all on target as Raheny struggled to get out of their own defence.

James O’Kane broke the Boden sequence of scores after good combination play involving Seán Byrne, Brian Fenton and Gavin Ivory.

Before the break a well-judged free from Colm Basquel on the 20m line wide on the left, following a foul on the influential Robbie McDaid, helped last year’s champions to their three-point interval lead.

Earlier in the half Boden started well with excellent scores from Ryan Basquel and Conal Keaney in the opening two minutes.

By the water-break the sides were level, 0-4 each, with Raheny coming into the game with points from Brian Howard, a classic Howard effort with the outside of the right boot, Darragh Keogh and Darren Byrne.

Raheny could have goaled themselves but Cian Ivers shot glanced off the crossbar following a fine through ball from Brian Fenton.

Immediately after at the other end Ross McGarry tried to pick out the top corner but his goal effort clipped the crossbar on the way over for a point.

SCORERS– Ballyboden St Enda’s: R Basquel 1-2 (1-0pen, 0-1f), C Keaney 0-5, C O’Reilly 1-1, R McGarry 0-3 (0-1 ‘45’), C Basquel 0-2 (0-1f), C Flaherty, MD Macauley, D O’Reilly 0-1 each. Raheny: S Grenham 0-4, G Ivory 0-3 (0-3f), B Fenton, B Howard, D Keogh (0-2f) 0-2 each, D Byrne, J O’Kane, C Ivers 0-1 each.

BALLYBODEN ST ENDA’S: D Gogan; K Kennedy, S Clayton, C Flaherty; J Holland, D Nelson, B Bobbett; MD Macauley, S Lambert; R Basquel, R McDaid, D O’Reilly; C Keaney, C Basquel, R McGarry. Subs: T Hayes for Lambert (41), D McCabe for O’Reilly (45), S O’Connor for Keaney (55), C O’Reilly for C Basquel (58); (Extra-time) Keaney for Flaherty (61), B McGarry for R Basquel (66), D O’Mahony for Holland (69), R Basquel for R McGarry (74).

RAHENY: C Heapes; S Byrne, D Shatwell, D Byrne; B McHugh, S McMahon, R Real; B Fenton, B Howard; D Keogh, B Talty, S McCarthy; J O’Kane, G Ivory, C Ivers. Subs: S Grenham for McCarthy (34), J Kearney for D Keogh (39), E Keogh for Talty (45), (Extra-time) J Dalton for McHugh (62), A Kelly for O’Kane (70), J Lyons for Dalton (71), L Fahy for Ivers (75).

REF: L Aherne Clarke (Ballyboughal).


2020 DUBLIN SFC1 SEMI-FINALS: Ballymun Kickahms v Kilmacud Crokes; Ballyboden St Enda’s v St Jude’s.

2020 DUBLIN SFC2 SEMI-FINALS: Nh Mearnóg v St Brigid’s; Cuala v Templeogue Synge St.

Share This With Your Friends

Add To Facebook Share On Twitter