Connect With Dublin GAA

Visit DubsTV
Club News
Boden extra, extra special in incredible semi-final duel

Boden extra, extra special in incredible semi-final duel

Sun, 18th November 2018

BALLYBODEN ST ENDA'S 5-28 COOLDERRY (Offaly) 5-25 (Two installments of extra-time)

Ballyboden St Enda's progress to the Leinster Club SHC decider after an incredible semi-final duel with Offaly's Coolderry in Parnell Park on Sunday afternoon.

It took two installments of extra-time in front of a crowd of around 4,000 to eventually prise the teams apart with Paul Ryan's three frees in the second-half of the second extra-time seeing them into a provincial final against Kilkenny's Ballyhale Shamrocks.

There was drama throughout this epic with the game ending with Coolderry having three players dismissed - Brian Carroll, Kevin Brady and keeper Stephen Corcoran with Boden losing Conal Keaney (second yellow).

All were dismissed in the second installment of extra-time.

Collie Basquel was the goal-scoring hero for Boden as the Dublin senior footballer tallied 3-3 from play.

The sides were level 5-22 to 4-25 after the initial extra-time before points from Paul Doherty and two Paul Ryan frees put Boden three up.

Carroll, who scored 2-16 overall, was red carded and was soon followed by Brady and then Keaney before in added time of the first half of the second extra-time Stephen Corcoran blasted a penalty to the net to bring the sides level again.

Ryan's three converted frees say Boden to victory then was Coolderry failed to score in the last half of extra-time and had keeper Corcoran dismissed before the finish.

Ballyboden St Enda's led from the start to into injury-time in normal time but were rocked in added time before forcing extra-time with a Paul Ryan free in the fifth minute of injury-time.

Boden led 4-14 to 2-19 as the game headed into added time when Brian Carroll fired to the St Enda's net following good work by both Kevin Brady and Kevin Connolly.

Within a minute Kevin Connolly edged Coolderry in front for the first time in the game, 3-20 to 4-16.

Boden's race looked to have been run when first Paul Ryan missed a '65' and then Finn McGarry shot wide from play.

However, in the fifth minute of added time Collie Basquel was fouled and Paul Ryan converted to force extra-time (4-17 to 3-20).

Ballyboden St Enda's made an electric start to a pulsating opening half with a 2-1 salvo inside the opening three minutes.

Inside the opening minute Niall Ryan rifled a shot to the roof of the Coolderry net at the end of a long run.

A minute later Dublin senior football panelist Collie Basquel made it 2-0 to 0-0 before he immediately added a point from play.

However, the Offaly champions battled back brilliantly to score the next six scores with Brian Carroll and Kevin Connolly to the fore.

A Paul Ryan converted free following a foul on Conal Keaney broke Coolderry's chain of scores to make it 2-2 to 0-6 by the tenth minute.

Coolderry reduced the gap to just a point with ten minutes to lay following a Brian Carroll point from play.

But Boden upped their game again with Simon Lambert driving his side on from centre-back.

David Curtin pointed after a Niall McMorrow pass before Paul Ryan converted another free, 2-6 to 0-9.

Then Joe Fortune's side grabbed their third goal when Collie Basquel chased a ball over the full-forward line and his pressure forced keeper Stephen Corcoran into a poor clearance that Conal Keaney gathered before angling to the empty net from 25 metres.

David O'Connor and Collie Basquel tagged on points to make it 3-8 to 0-9 before a Brian Carroll free reduced the deficit to 3-8 to 0-10 at the half-time interval.

SCORERS - Ballyboden St Enda's: P Ryan 0-14 (0-11f, 0-1 ‘65’), C Basquel 3-3, C Keaney 1-1, N Ryan 1-0, P Doherty 0-3, S Durkin, S O’Connor, D Curtin 0-2 each, A Mellett 0-1. Coolderry: B Carroll 2-16 (0-11f), D Parlon 1-1, C Molloy 1-0, S Corcoran (1-0 pen) 1-0, K Connolly 0-3, D Miller, C Parlon, M Bergin, W Malone, M Corcoran 0-1 each.

BALLYBODEN ST ENDA'S: C O’Donoghue; J Madden, L Corcoran, D O’Connor; S Durkin, S Lambert, D Curran; S O’Connor, D Curtin; A Mellett, N McMorrow, N Ryan; C Keaney, C Basquel, P Ryan. Subs: C Dooley for N Ryan (41), P Doherty for Curtin (47), F McGarry for S O’Connor (53), M Travers for Mellett (59), Mellett for Travers (et), C McCormack for Travers (73).

COOLDERRY: S Corcoran; S Connolly, T Corcoran, S Burke; B Teehan, K Brady, B Kelly; M Bergin, D King; C Molloy, B Carroll, E Parlon; K Connolly, M Corcoran, D Miller. Subs: C Parlon for M Corcoran (ht), D Parlon for Miller (45), J Brady for Bergin (47), W Malone for T Corcoran (49), Bergin for Kelly (70), M Corcoran for E Parlon (70), Miller for Molloy (76).

REF: J Heffernan (Wexford)

Share This With Your Friends

Add To Facebook Share On Twitter