Connect With Dublin GAA

Visit DubsTV
Club News
Boughal and Craobh exit Leinster Championship

Boughal and Craobh exit Leinster Championship

Sat, 9th November 2019

The provincial dreams of Ballyboughal and Craobh Chiaráin were ended on Saturday in their respective Leinster football championships.

Ballyboughal made a nightmare start from which they never fully recovered in their Leinster IFC quarter-final against Kilkenny's senior champions, Mullinavat, in Thomastown.

The Kilkenny side opened up a 3-6 to 0-1 inside just over 20 minutes and by the break, having played with the wind, held a very commanding 3-7 to 0-3 advantage.

Ballyboughal had also lost team captain Ritchie Downey to injury after just ten minutes.

Two minutes into the second half Matthew Farrell grabbed a goal back for Ballyboughal and as they half wore on they made major inroads into Mullinavat's lead.

Gerry Seaver kicked seven points, play and frees, while Ciarán Wynne, Timmy O'Sullivan and Ben Callinan also contributed to the scoring tally.

In the final minutes Keith Lynch hit Boughal's second goal but they ran out of time as the Kilkenny side progressed, 3-11 to 2-11.

Craobh Chiaráin were also slow starters and paid they price as they lost out to Wexford's Rathgarogue-Cushinstown, 0-11 to 0-6, in their Leinster JFC quarter-final in Kennedy Park, New Ross.

Share This With Your Friends

Add To Facebook Share On Twitter