Connect With Dublin GAA

Visit DubsTV
Club News
Brigid’s overcome Thomas Davis to book SFC quarter-final spot

Brigid’s overcome Thomas Davis to book SFC quarter-final spot

Sun, 14th May 2017


St Brigid’s booked their spot in the Dublin SFC quarter-finals after overcoming Thomas Davis in Saturday’s second round battle in Parnell Park.

The Russell Park men led by 0-8 to 1-3, with Ciarán Farrelly getting the Davis goal, but improved in the second period to be assured winners by the finish.

Brigid’s had closed the half out well with points form Lorcan McCarthy (free), a fine Seán Egan score, Paddy Andrews, Philly Ryan and John O’Loughlin after Farrelly had struck for the only goal of the game.

Daithi Ryan cut the deficit early in the second half before Brigid’s replied with points from Philly Ryan, John O’Loughlin and Lorcan McCarthy.

Cian Mullins won some vital possession at midfield for Brigid’s while O’Loughlin, positioned at full-forward for most of the game, proved to be a great ball-winner with his running causing problems for the Thomas Davis full-back line.

Brigid’s did enough to stay that bit in front in the second half, with the versatile Mark Cahill performing well in his sweeper role, as late points from O'Loughlin and Malachy Tighe, after working a one-two with Kevin Callaghan, put Mark Byrne’s side into the last-eight.

See the DubsTV match highlights from the game below:

SCORERS St Brigid’s: L McCarthy (0-1f, 0-1 ’45’), P Ryan (0-1f), J O’Loughlin 0-3 each, P Andrews 0-2, S Egan, N Davey, M Tighe 0-1 each. Thomas Davis: C Farrelly 1-2, P Hudson (0-1f), C Sallier 0-2 each, S McGrath, D Ryan 0-1 each.

ST BRIGID’S: S Supple; S Egan, J Mullins, C Lynch; G Kane, C Doyle, A Daly; C Mullins, J O’Loughlin; N Davey, D Plunkett, M Cahill; P Ryan, P Andrews, L McCarthy. Subs: M Tighe for Doyle (34), D Freeman for McCarthy (43), K Callaghan for Davey (49, black card), F O’Meara for Kane (54).

THOMAS DAVIS: S Blanchfield; L Healy, G Carruth, A Fallon; O Kelly, E Kirby, C Murphy; B Kirby, R Deegan; J O’Reilly, S McGrath, K Murray; P Hudson, C Farrelly, C Sallier. Subs: R Gleeson for B Kirby (20), D Ryan for Murray (26), E O’Toole for O’Reilly (ht), C Galvin for Gleeson (56).

REF: Tony Lambe (St Vincent’s).

Share This With Your Friends

Add To Facebook Share On Twitter