Connect With Dublin GAA

Visit DubsTV
County News
Cluxton voted Footballer of Year; Seven Dubs in All-Star team

Cluxton voted Footballer of Year; Seven Dubs in All-Star team

Fri, 1st November 2019

Seven Dublin footballers have been honoured in the 2019 PwC All-Stars with Stephen Cluxton voted as Footballer of the Year.

Team captain Stephen Cluxton, was picking up his sixth award, and has Michael Fitzsimons (2 awards), Brian Howard (2), Jack McCaffrey (4), Brian Fenton (4), Paul Mannion (3) and Con O’Callaghan (2) for company in the annual awards scheme.

History was made at the PwC All-Stars as Stephen Cluxton and Séamus Callanan were crowned PwC GAA/GPA Players of the Year in Football and Hurling.

The decision of his fellow players to bestow the overall honour upon him tops a record season for Dublin goalkeeper Cluxton.

The Parnell’s clubman had already set a new milestone for being the first man to play more than 100 times in the senior championship and collected a seventh All-Ireland winners’ medal as he captained the Dubs to the iconic five in-a-row.

This Player of the Year accolade now comes alongside what was also a record sixth individual PwC All-Star for the Hill 16 hero – an award which moves him one ahead of his fellow Dub John O’Leary, and he is now the most decorated football goalkeeper of all-time.

Drom - Inch sharp shooter Callanan was also the top choice of his fellow hurlers after a season that saw him captain the Premier County to the Liam MacCarthy Cup.

The Tipperary full forward’s trademark prolific flourishes in front of goal were to the fore yet again and he set a modern-day record of breaking the 30-goal mark in a Championship career that has seen him feature in the All-Ireland triumphs of 2010, 2016 and now 2019.

The devastating impact made in attack by Kerry and Kenmare starlet Seán O’Shea off frees and general play saw him selected as the PwC GAA/GPA Young Footballer of the Year award.

In hurling, there was an honour for Ballyhale Shamrock’s and Kilkenny forward Adrian Mullen, with the PwC GAA/GPA Young Hurler of Year award coming in a season that also saw him win the AIB Club Hurler of the Year title.

Cluxton’s triumph caps a magnificent seven-strong haul of PwC Football All-Stars which were announced live on RTÉ on Friday night at Dublin’s Convention Centre.

The Dubs feature through Michael Fitzsimons and Jack McCaffrey who are joined by the versatile Brian Howard in defence. Brian Fenton, last year’s footballer of the year, is again selected in midfield. In attack, Con O’Callaghan and Paul Mannion are recognised for their invaluable contribution to Dublin’s successful assault on GAA history.

There are five counties represented on the final 15 for football.

Beaten All-Ireland finalists and Munster champions Kerry have four awards – covering defence, midfield and attack.

There are two awards for Tyrone and then one each for Donegal and Mayo.

2019 PwC Football All-Stars – (previous awards in brackets)


  1. Stephen Cluxton (Dublin) (2002,’06,’07, 2011,’13).


2.Michael Fitzsimons (Dublin) (2017)

3.Ronan McNamee (Tyrone)

4.Tom O’Sullivan (Kerry)

5.Patrick Durcan (Mayo)

6.Brian Howard (Dublin) (2018)

7.Jack McCaffrey (Dublin) (2015, ’17, ’18)


8.Brian Fenton (Dublin) (2015, ’16, ’18)

9. David Moran (Kerry) (2014)


10. Paul Mannion (Dublin) (2017, ’18)

11. Seán O’Shea (Kerry)

12. Michael Murphy (Donegal) (2012, ’14)

13. David Clifford (Kerry) (2018)

14. Cathal McShane (Tyrone)

15. Con O’Callaghan (Dublin) (2017)


PwC GAA/GPA Footballer of the Year – Stephen Cluxton (Parnell's, Dublin)

PwC GAA/GPA Young Footballer of the Year – Seán Ó Shea (Kenmare, Kerry)

PwC GAA/GPA Hurler of the Year – Séamus Callanan (Drom-Inch, Tipperary)

PwC GAA/GPA Young Hurler of the Year – Adrian Mullen (Ballyhale Shamrocks, Kilkenny)

Share This With Your Friends

Add To Facebook Share On Twitter