Connect With Dublin GAA

Visit DubsTV
Club News
Controlled Crokes win Leinster Club

Controlled Crokes win Leinster Club

Mon, 10th January 2022

Kilmacud Crokes 0-14 

Naas 0-7

For the fifth time in their history, Kilmacud Crokes are Leinster Club Senior Football Champions.

The Dublin Champions over came Naas with a controlled and impressive display which saw them shut down the Kildare champions attack and limit them to 7 points, 4 of which were frees from former Kildare forward Eamonn Callaghan.

The Stillorgan men were without star forward Paul Mannion, who missed out through a knee injury, but in his place others such as Tom Fox and Dara Mullin stepped up. Fox started the game brightly finding his distance from range as Crokes were very efficient with their shots in the first half. Naas stayed in touch through placed balls but Crokes finished the half with Dan O'Brien and Craig Dias kicking well taken points to help them take a 0-8 to 0-7 lead at the break.

The second half saw Crokes defense to the fore with strong displays from Rory O'Carroll, Michael Mullin and the McGowan brothers Ross and Andy.

Shane Horan and Cian O'Connor were both introduced in the second half and both helped ensure there was no drop in intensity as their team closed the game out in comfortable fashion.

Kilmacud will now face Roscommon Champions Padraig Pearse's in the semi finals.

Scorers for Kilmacud Crokes: Tom Fox (0-2f) 0-5, Dara Mullin 0-3, Callum Pearson 0-2, Conor Ferris (0-1f), Dan O’Brien, Craig Dias and Aidan jones 0-1 each.

Scorers for Naas: Eamonn Callaghan (0-4f) 0-4, Dermot Hanafin 0-2, Paddy McDermott 0-1.

Kilmacud Crokes

1. Conor Ferris 2. Michael Mullin, 3. Ross McGowan, 5. Dan O’Brien, 7. Cillian O’Shea, 6. Rory O’Carroll, 4. Andrew McGowan 8. Craig Dias, 23. Conor Casey 21. Aidan Jones, 15. Dara Mullin, 10. Tom Fox13. Hugh Kenny, 14. Shane Cunningham, 17. Callum Pearson

Subs 12. Shane Horan for Kenny (ht) 18. Cian O”Connor for Pearson (48) 20. Anthony Quinn for Cunningham (54) 27. Darragh Jones for Fox (57) 26. James Murphy for Dias (62)


1. Jack Rodgers 24. Cathal Daly, 8. Eoin Doyle, 3. Paul Sullivan, 5. Tom Browne, 6. Brian Byrne, 7. Paddy McDermott

14. James Burke, 9. Jack Cleary 17. Sean Cullen, 4. Colm Joyce, 2. Brian Kane 11. Eamonn Callaghan, 12. Luke Griffin, 20. Dermot Hanafin

Subs 22. Conor McCarthy for Joyce (48)26. Ailin McDermott for Kane (54) 23. Jack McEvitt for Maguire (55) 10. Shane Bergin for Griffin (57) 15. David Gahin for Cleary (59)

Share This With Your Friends

Add To Facebook Share On Twitter