Connect With Dublin GAA

Visit DubsTV
Club News
Crokes crowned AFL1 champions

Crokes crowned AFL1 champions

Thu, 16th November 2017

A powerful second half saw Kilmacud Crokes capture the Dublin AFL Division 1 title when defeating St Maur's, 2-14 to 0-12, at Parnell Park on Wednesday night.

The sides were level at the break, 0-7 each, before two Aidan Jones second half goals put Crokes on the road to victory.

Kilmacud started the better with both Paul Mannion and Mark Vaughan picking off a brace of points and with ten minutes to go in the opening half the Stillorgan side were 0-7 to 0-3 to the good.

Maur's battled back over the conclusion of the half with Chris Carthy kicking four unanswered points to bring the sides level by the interval.

Callum Pearson edged Crokes back in front early in the second period before then setting Jones up for his opening goal.

When Pat Burke added a point Crokes were five clear but back came Maur's again with scores from Carthy and Ciarán Reddin.

With just less than 20 minutes to play wing-back Jones showed his scoring touch to fire to the net again and effectively seal victory for his side.

Meanwhile, Ballyboden St Enda's beat Raheny 1-17 to 1-16 in the Senior Football Tournament final at St Margaret's.

SCORERS– Kilmacud Crokes: A Jones 2-0, P Burke, P Mannion (0-1f) 0-4 each, M Vaughan (0-1f), C Pearson 0-3 each. St Maur’s: C Carthy 0-8 (0-6f), C Reddin 0-3, C McGuire 0-1.

KILMACUD CROKES: D Nestor; J Murphy, C O’Sullivan, R McGowan; N Nolan, C Dias, A Jones; C Casey, P Duggan; S Horan, C Pearson, A McGowan; P Mannion, M Vaughan, P Burke. Subs: C O’Connor for Horan (37), S Williams for Vaughan (59), BShovlin for Duggan (60, Black Card), C Kelly for Burke (61), L Flatman (63), M Mullin for Nolan (63).

ST MAUR’S: M Butterly; S Harford, D McGuinness, B Cronin; K Nugent, C Sweetman, T O’Neill; M O’Reilly, E Fletcher; C McGuinness, M McGrath, D Carthy; C Reddin, C McGuire, C Carthy. Subs: D Byrne for D Carthy (37), G O’Brien for C McGuinness (46), P Butterly for Nugent (52),V Whelan for McGrath (52).

REF: J Higgins (Na Fianna).

Share This With Your Friends

Add To Facebook Share On Twitter