Connect With Dublin GAA

Visit DubsTV
Club News
Crokes overpower Craobh in SHC (Group 2)

Crokes overpower Craobh in SHC (Group 2)

Thu, 30th July 2020



Kilmacud Crokes continued where they left off in the opening round by overpowering Craobh Chiaráin by 12 points in this Dublin SHC 'A' Group 2 Round 2 encounter at Clonshaugh on Wednesday night.

Crokes face Scoil Uí Chonaill in their last group game but have already booked their quarter-final spot as have St Vincent's and Lucan Sarsfields (Group 1), St Brigid's (Group 3), Na Fianna and Cuala (Group 4).

After defeating Ballyboden St Enda's by 14 points (4-18 to 0-16) in the previous round Crokes started with intent against their hosts Chiaráins and hit the opening nine points to lead 0-9 to 0-0 before Craobh opened their account in the 19th minute.

Though first-choice freetaker Oisín O'Rorke was absent (suspended) following his sending off against 'Boden the Kilmacud forward unit carried all the early threat with Fionn O Ceallaigh getting them up and running with a first minute point.

Points followed from Marc Howard (four), Caolan Conway (two), Caolan Conway and Fergal Whitely before Stephen Kelly took the blank look off of the home side's scoreboard.

By the half-time interval an Alex Considine goal, his second in two games, pushed Crokes 13 points clear, 1-13 to 0-3.

Conor Ryan's sideline was one of the highlights for Craobh but there was no coming back against their impressive opponents.

Ronan Hayes finished the night with 0-4 from play as did Fionn O Ceallaigh and with Fergal Whitely hitting three points from play Crokes made it two commanding wins from two starts and progress to the knockout quarter-finals.

SCORERS - Kilmacud Crokes: M Howard 0-6 (0-3f), R Hayes, F O Ceallaigh 0-4 each, F Whitely 0-3, A Considine 1-0, C Conway 0-2, N O Riordain, S McGrath, S Leahy 0-1 each. Craobh Chiaráin: S Kelly 0-6 (0-4f, 0-1 '65'), C Derwin 0-3, J Sammon 0-2, C Ryan (sline), P Kelly 0-1 each.

KILMACUD CROKES: M Collins; B Sheehy, B O’Carroll, S Clinton; N O Riordain, M Grogan, C Mac Gabhann; F Whitely, D Mulligan; M Howard, S McGrath, C Conway; F O Ceallaigh, R Hayes, A Considine. Subs: E Gibbons for O Riordain (44), S Kinsella for Conway (44), Ross O’Carroll for McGrath (55), S Leahy for Whitely (60).

CRAOBH CHIARAIN: S Chester; S O’Brien, E Farrell, Damien O’Reilly; M Hayes, Derek O’Reilly, G Kelly; C Ryan, C Sammon; R Mahon, D Kelly, C Derwin; J Finn, P Kelly, S Kelly. Subs: F Usanga for D Kelly (40), A Kenny for Derek O’Reilly (41), D Cullen for Damien O’Reilly (54), J Sammon for Mahon (54), S Finnegan for Hayes (55).

REF: C Mooney (St Pat’s, Palmerstown).

Share This With Your Friends

Add To Facebook Share On Twitter