Connect With Dublin GAA

Visit DubsTV
Club News
Crokes prove to be extra special

Crokes prove to be extra special

Fri, 24th October 2014


(After extra-time)

Kilmacud Crokes will fly the Dublin flag in Leinster after edging out St Jude's after extra-time in Friday night's Dublin SHC final at Parnell Park.

In normal time an injury-time point from Damien Kelly forced extra-time after Jude's looked set to be crowned Dublin senior champions for the first time.

In extra-time Crokes hit the ground running with points from Ryan O'Dwyer and Cian Mac Gabhann to open up a two-point lead before Seán McGrath struck for a goal in the ninth minute of the opening period of extra-time, following good work by Ross O'Carroll.

Further points from Dillon Mulligan and McGrath (free) pushed the Stillorgan side seven points clear and they held on in the face of some late Jude's pressure.

A Paul Maguire goaled free cut the deficit before Ronan Joyce narrowed it further but it wasn't to be for the Tymon North men as Crokes advance to face Laois champions, Rathdowney Errill, in Parnell Park on Sunday week (November 2, 2.30).

St Judes v Kilmacud Crokes - Dublin County Senior Hurling Championship Final

If extra-time belonged to Crokes it was their opponents who led for most of the way in normal time.

Jude's, appearing in their first final, settled early with a brace of Fionn O Riain Broin frees and a third free in the ninth minute had his side 0-3 to 0-1 in front with Barry O'Rorke accounting for Crokes' sole score.

Then Crokes hit four unanswered points over the following seven minutes to open up a 0-5 to 0-3 lead with Caolan Conway, McGrath (one from play, one free) and Oisín O'Rorke all on target.

However, Jude's completed the half with scores from the highly influential Danny Sutcliffe and an O Riain Broin free to enter the break on level terms, 0-5 each.

This evenly matched contest continued in a similar vein on the restart with McGrath (free) and Sutcliffe exchanging scores before O Riain Broin (free) and Jude Sweeney did likewise.

Three O Riain Broin frees in quick succession between the 41st and 47th minute had Jude's three to the good but then Crokes struck for an important goal through Ross O'Carroll to bring the sides level.

Sutcliffe and O Riain Broin restored a two-point lead for Jude's but Crokes rallied again with points from McGrath (free) and James Burke to make it 1-9 to 0-12 with seven minutes of normal time left to play.

A superb Ger McManus point was followed by O Riain Broin's ninth pointed free of the night - so with just over two minutes of normal time remaining Jude's were on the verge of creating history as they led 0-14 to 1-9.

But Crokes had the final words of normal time with a McGrath '65' and equaliser from Kelly to force extra-time.

SCORERS - Kilmacud Crokes: S McGrath 1-6 (0-4f, 0-1 '65), Ross O'Carroll 1-0, R O'Dwyer 0-2, C Mac Gabhann, D Mulligan, D Kelly, C Conway, O O'Rorke, B O'Rorke, J Sweeney, J Burke 0-1 each. St Jude’s: F Ó Riain Broin 0-10 (9f), P Maguire 1-0 (f), D Sutcliffe 0-3, J McManus, R Joyce 0-1 each. 

KILMACUD CROKES: M Collins; N Corcoran, Rory O’Carroll, J Clinton; C Mac Gabhann, J Doughan, B O’Carroll; D Mulligan, D Kelly; Ross O’Carroll, R O’Dwyer, C Conway; B O’Rorke, S McGrath, O O’Rorke. Subs: J Sweeney for O O’Rorke (29), J Burke for Conway (45), R O’Loughlin for Rory O’Carroll (47), B Ó Leidhin for B O’Rorke (57), B Mulligan for B O’Carroll (61), C Clinton for Mulligan (76), R Walsh for Kelly (80).

ST JUDE'S: G Nolan; E McLoughlin, G McManus, C Mangan; R Hardy, A O’Beirne, R O’Brien; P Maguire, N Mangan; R Joyce, D Sutcliffe, M McGuire; F Ó Riain Broin, T Devlin, J McManus. Subs: J Ryan for McGuire (35), S Larkin for O’Brien (48), P Aylward for N Mangan (53), A McGovern for J McManus (59), V Walsh for Aylward (70).

REF: D Harrington (St Sylvester's).

Share This With Your Friends

Add To Facebook Share On Twitter