Connect With Dublin GAA

Visit DubsTV
Club News
Crummey and O’Shea honoured on Higher Ed Rising Stars selections

Crummey and O’Shea honoured on Higher Ed Rising Stars selections

Mon, 15th April 2019

Higher Education GAA has announced the names of exciting young talents in Gaelic Games who make up the Electric Ireland HE GAA Rising Stars in football and hurling for 2019 - Cillian O'Shea (Kilmacud Crokes) and Chris Crummey (Lucan Sarsfields) are honoured in football and hurling respectively.

O'Shea enjoyed a great campaign for UCD's footballers while Crummey did likewise for DCU's hurlers.

These awards acknowledge outstanding performances in the battle for the third level football and hurling championships and come at the end of what was another epic season of third level GAA action.

UCC as the champions of both the Electric Ireland Fitzgibbon Cup and Electric Ireland Sigerson Cup were truly a class apart in 2019 and they dominate the final 15 in both codes with no fewer than fourteen young heroes chosen across the two star-studded selections.

Despite this there are five colleges represented on each panel with established inter county senior players such as Chris Crummey, Aaron Gillane and Seán O’Shea shining alongside up-and-comers James Bergin and Jarlath Óg Burns.

The Electric Ireland Fitzgibbon Cup produced some thrilling games with only a single score separating the semi-finalists. UCC were worthy champions and contributed eight star players with Mary Immaculate College (3), DCU DE (2), NUI Galway (1) and GMIT (1) claiming the rest of the spoils.

The battle for the Electric Ireland Sigerson Cup was also a close fought affair and again there are five third level institutions contributing star players with UCC again being the dominant presence with 6 star players after a stellar final performance against a well drilled and determined St Mary’s University College who have four star players listed. NUI Galway (2), UCD (2) and LYIT (1) also feature on the football panel.

Also named this year were the Electric Ireland Hurler of the Year, Shane Conway from UCC and the Electric Ireland Footballer of the Year, Seán O’Shea also from UCC.

Congratulating the winners, Uachtarán John Horan said: “Over the last number of years it has become a real statement of intent from young players involved at third level football and hurling championships that the form they show here is a sign of things to come at inter-county level.

“Indeed, many of those chosen here have already embarked on senior inter-county careers and are making headlines. I’ve no doubt more of these names will follow them in the years to come.

“We are delighted that our third-level institutions, which are rated so highly all over the world for the calibre of young people they help to mould, are so committed to the promotion and playing of our Games and we appreciate that support.

“The Higher Education competitions are of the highest quality and these awards carry a major standing as a result.

"Our thanks to Electric Ireland for their support and we look forward to watching these young heroes continue to develop their talents at club and county level.”

John Dwane, Manager Customer Operations, Electric Ireland said: “We in Electric Ireland have been delighted once again support this prestigious championships for another year. For those involved in sport at third level, representing their college is special and it is the Higher Education Leagues and Championships that provide this sporting opportunity."


Electric Ireland HE GAA Rising Stars 2019 FOOTBALL
1Mark Reid St Mary's, Belfast
2Brian O'Beaglaoích UCC
3Kevin Mc Donnell NUIG
4Graham O'Sullivan UCC
5Cian Kiely UCC
6Daniel O'BrienUCC
7Cillian O'Shea UCD
8Jarlath Óg BurnsSt Mary's, Belfast
9Padraig LuceyUCC
10Michael LanganLetterkenny IT
11Sean O'SheaUCC
12Peter CookeNUIG
13Stephen Mc Conville St Mary's, Belfast
14Evan O'CarrollUCD
15Shane Mc GuiganSt Mary's, Belfast

Footballer of the Year: Sean O’Shea (UCC).

Electric Ireland HE GAA Rising Stars 2019 HURLING
1Eoghan CahillMary Immaculate
2Niall O’LearyUCC
3Eddie Gunning UCC
4Thomas Grimes Mary Immaculate
5Chris O’LearyUCC
6Paddy O’Loughlin UCC
7Chris Crummey DCU
8Conor BrowneUCC
9Jarlath Mannion GMIT
10Shane KingstonUCC
11Aaron Gillane Mary Immaculate
12James Bergin DCU
13Evan NilandNUIG
14Shane Conway UCC
15Mark KehoeUCC

Hurler of the Year: Shane Conway (UCC).

Share This With Your Friends

Add To Facebook Share On Twitter