Connect With Dublin GAA

Visit DubsTV
County News
Dublin Clarke finish strong to defeat Laois in Celtic Challenge

Dublin Clarke finish strong to defeat Laois in Celtic Challenge

Thu, 16th May 2019

Dublin Clarke hurlers enjoyed a 1-20 to 1-11 victory over Laois in Wednesday night's Bank of Ireland Celtic Challenge (U17) clash at O'Moore Park, Portlaoise.

The opening half was evenly balanced with the Dubs taking a 0-11 to 0-8 lead into the interval after concluding the half on an upward curve with two late points.

Dublin Clarke improved in the second period when upping their intensity to take a greater control of the contest.

All six of Dublin's starting forwards got on the scoresheet over the course of the hour with Matthew Lynam influential with 1-2 from play.

Lynam's goal arrived 10 minutes from the end as Dublin Clarke outscored Laois 1-5 to 0-2 in the last quarter.

The Castleknock lad was selected for the Best and Fairest award by the match referee Richie Fitzsimons.

Ger Ryan, who was the Best and Fairest recipient in Clarke's previous game against Wexford, tallied 0-6 with Rory O'Neill and Jack Kielthy also doing well.

Dublin's defence tightened up in the second half with Cormac Cullinane impressing, before suffering an injury, while Evan McSherry and Diarmuid Clerkin also enjoyed good displays.

Next Wednesday (May 22) the two Dublin sides (Plunkett and Clarke) clash in O'Toole Park (7.30).

The final group games are on Wednesday, June 5 when Dublin Plunkett encounter Laois in Abbottstown (8.0) while at the same time Dublin Clarke play Offaly.

SCORERS - Dublin Clarke: G Ryan 0-6 (0-6f), M Lynam 1-2, L Mulligan Lynch, B Keogh, J Kelly, A Drewett 0-2 each, L Kiernan, R O'Neill, D Noonan, C Morgan 0-1 each. Laois: D Bowe 1-4 (0-1f, 0-1 '65'), C Dunne 0-3 (0-3f), J Corby, J O'Brien Holmes, J O'Connor 0-1 each.

DUBLIN CLARKE (panel): Conor Ryan, James Herbert, Ben Roberts, Cormac Culliane, Evan McSherry, Diarmuid Clerkin, Luke Mulligan Lynch, Liam Kiernan, Sam Stewart, Rory O’Neill, Matthew Lynam, Ger Ryan, Bryan Keogh, Jack Kelly, Adam Drewett, Fionn Rock, Eoghan Baldwin, Reuben Cantwell, Cian Morgan, Cian Hassett, Eoin Behan, Derry Noonan, Ben Rodgers, Sean Byrne, Ross Byrne.

LAOIS (panel): Ben Campion, Lochlin Conway, Aodh Bowes, Mick O’Brien, Philip Tynan, Niall Coss, Jack Phelan, Joe Corby, Daniel Bowe, Josh O’Brien Holmes, Ryan Costigan, Cillian Dunne, Jim O’Connor, Sam Quinn, Padraig Brennan, Tom Fennelly, Dan Moore, Sam Birane, Rian Edwards, Alex Moran.

Share This With Your Friends

Add To Facebook Share On Twitter