Connect With Dublin GAA

Visit DubsTV
Club News
Feast of hurling promised in SHC quarter-finals

Feast of hurling promised in SHC quarter-finals

Thu, 20th September 2018

Northside rivals St Vincent's and Na Fianna get the Dublin SHC 'A' quarter-finals underway this Friday night when they clash in Parnell Park (6.45).

St Vincent's came through Group 1 with a 100 per cent record (wins over Raheny, St Jude's and O'Toole's), concluding their three games with a 1-23 to 0-15 victory over the Larriers last time out.

John Hetherton was top-scorer for the Marino side - 0-11 (0-5f, 0-1 ‘65’) - in an impressive showing, while Cian McBride hit 1-3 and Conor Burke 0-4 overall.

Vinnies led 1-11 to 0-7 at the break with the goal scored by Cian Mc Bride.

O’Toole’s battled in the second half with Andrew Morris striking three fine points but St Vincent’s had too much in hand with subs Chris McCarry (0-2) and Rian McBride (0-1) tagging on late scores.

Na Fianna enjoyed comfortable wins over Whitehall Colmcille and Nh Fionnbarra in Group 2 before losing to Kilmacud Crokes (0-20 to 1-14) in their last group game, both clubs had already booked their quarter-final berths.

Crokes led the St Mobhi Rd side 0-13 to 0-8 at the interval and were the better side throughout despite the accuracy of Colin Currie (0-11; 0-8f, 0-1 '65').

Just on the three-quarter mark Na Fianna were awarded a penalty when keeper Matt Collins hauled down AJ Murphy, Donal Burke took the penalty but was denied by Collins.

Inside the last ten minutes Crokes were 0-20 to 0-12 ahead before the St Mobhi Road side finished with a scoring flurry.

Colin Currie struck over two points before Dublin senior footballer Conor McHugh found the net in added time.


Season to date: Beat Raheny (3-13 to 0-10); Beat St Jude’s (1-13 to 0-13), Beat O’Toole’s (1-23 to 0-15).

Last winners: 1993.


Season to date: Beat Whitehall Colmcille (1-28 to 0-20); Beat Nh Fionnbarra (3-26 to 2-9); Lost to Kilmacud Crokes (0-20 to 1-14).

Last winners: Never champions.


Ballyboden St Enda's face Ballinteer St John's in Friday night's second SHC 'A' quarter-final (8.15).

Boden topped Group 3 with their last game a 1-18 to 0-14 victory over Cuala in Parnell Park recently. Prior to that they had beaten Craobh Chiarain and St Brigid's.

The Cuala side, who lined out without both their Dublin senior footballers Con O'Callaghan and Mark Schutte, had also guaranteed their berth in the last-eight.

The Dalkey side early on but the accuracy of Paul Ryan brought Boden back into contention before Aidan Mellett hit the only goal of the game in the 17th minute to help St Enda's to a 1-10 to 0-10 interval lead.

Ballinteer St John's emerged out of Group 4. They booked their last-eight spot with a 1-18 to 3-12 draw against Crumlin.

The Marlay Park outfit led by six points with three minutes of normal time remaining but conceded two goals to earn Crumlin the draw.

Danny McCarthy finished with 0-10 (0-7f) for St John’s while James Gilligan and Aodhán Clabby both hit three points from play, Joey Maher got their goal in the tenth minute.

Ballinteer led 1-11 to 1-4 at half-time but Crumlin hit the first four points on the restart before St John’s settled again.

They looked set for victory in the dying minutes before goals from sub Daniel Hanks and Alex Quinn, who scored 2-2 ov overall, earned Crumlin a share of the points.


Season to date: Beat Craobh Chiaráin (1-19 to 2-7); Beat St Brigid’s (2-19 to 1-12); Beat Cuala (1-18 to 0-14).

Last winners: 2013.


Season to date: Beat Setanta (0-17 to 1-13); Lost to Lucan Sars (0-23 to 1-12), Drew with Crumlin (1-18 to 3-12).

Last winners: Never champions.


Kilmacud Crokes, under the management of Anthony Daly this year, finished in pole position in Group 2, concluding the round-robin section with a 0-20 to 1-14 victory over Na Fianna to set up their quarter-final against St Jude's in Parnell Park on Sunday (2.15).

They had earlier overcome Nh Fionnbarra and Whitehall Colmcille in their group games prior to the summer break.

Mark Howard (0-6, 0-4f) and Fergal Whitely (0-5) enjoyed productive showings for the Stillorgan men as the led 0-13 to 0-8 at half-time.

Kilmacud finished the opening half the better with points from Ronan Hayes, Whitely and Sean McGrath.

Crokes restarted well with Lorcan McMullen, Oisin O'Rorke, Caolan Conway and Howard all on target to extend their advantage.

Inside the last ten minutes Crokes were 0-20 to 0-12 ahead before the St Mobhi Road side finished with a scoring flurry.

Opponents St Jude's had little difficulty overcoming Raheny, 1-20 to 0-12, in their final Group 1 game.

Fionn Ó Riain Broin had a game to remember with a personal tally of 1-10 (0-9f) his goal came in the 50th minute following good work by Danny Sutcliffe.


Season to date: Beat Nh Fionnbarra (0-24 to 1-6); Beat Whitehall Colmcille (2-20 to 0-16); Beat Na Fianna (0-20 to 1-14).

Last winners: 2014.


Season to date: Beat O’Toole’s (0-20 to 0-11); Lost to St Vincent’s (1-13 to 0-13), Beat Raheny (1-20 to 0-12)

Last winners: Never champions.


Two in-a-row All-Ireland champions, Cuala face Lucan Sarsfields in Sunday's second quarter-final (4.0) and will be looking to bounce back immediately from their Group 3 defeat to Ballyboden St Enda's (1-18 to 0-14) two weeks ago in Parnell Park.

Cuala lined out without both their Dublin senior footballers Con O'Callaghan and Mark Schutte, both Boden and Mattie Kenny's side had already guaranteed their berth in the last-eight.

Cuala started well and points from brothers Sean and David Treacy, who finished with a tally of 0-8 (0-5f, 0-1 '65'), helped them into a 0-4 to 0-1 lead inside seven minutes.

However, the accuracy of Paul Ryan and Aidan Mellett's 17th minute goal steered St Enda's to a 1-10 to 0-10 interval lead.

Three minutes into the second-half Cuala had the opportunity to get right back in the game but David Treacy's penalty was stopped by Gary Maguire.

Lucan Sarsfields did just enough to hold off Setanta, 0-17 to 0-16, in their concluding Group 4 tussle at O’Toole Park.

Lucan led 0-8 to 0-7 at the break with Ryan Clarke, who finished with 0-10 (0-7f), doing well for Setanta.

Inside the final ten minutes the sides were level 0-14 each but Lucan, for who Ciaran Dowling hit three points from play, managed to edge in front and set up a quarter-final against two in-a-row All-Ireland champions Cuala.


Season to date: Beat St Brigid’s (1-14 to 1-7); Beat Craobh Chiaráin (1-15 to 0-14); Lost to Ballyboden St Enda’s (1-18 to 0-14).

Last winners: 2017.


Season to date: Beat Crumlin (1-25 to 1-12); Beat Ballinteer St John’s (0-23 to 1-12); Beat Setanta (0-17 to 0-16).

Last winners: Never champions.



Parnell Park: St Vincent’s v Na Fianna, 6.45

Parnell Park: Ballinteer St John’s v Ballyboden St Enda’s, 8.15


Parnell Park: Kilmacud Crokes v St Jude’s, 2.15

Parnell Park: Cuala v Lucan Sarsfields, 4.0

Share This With Your Friends

Add To Facebook Share On Twitter