Connect With Dublin GAA

Visit DubsTV
Club News
Finals day in Parnell Park for Fox-Cabs and Clontarf

Finals day in Parnell Park for Fox-Cabs and Clontarf

Fri, 7th December 2018

New All-Ireland club champions will be crowned in three grades over the weekend, as a landmark Ladies Football season draws to a close.

A new name will be etched on the Dolores Tyrrell Memorial Cup as previous runners-up Foxrock-Cabinteely (Dublin) and Mourneabbey (Cork) clash at Parnell Park on Saturday in the Senior decider (5:15pm).

That’s followed by the Intermediate Final meeting of Clontarf (Dublin) and Emmet Óg (Monaghan) at 7:30pm.

Both games at Parnell Park will be LIVE on TG4, while the LGFA will stream Sunday’s Junior Final involving Glanmire (Cork) and Tourlestrane (Sligo) on the Association’s Facebook Page:

Sunday’s fixture at Duggan Park in Ballinasloe will throw in at 2:30pm.

Saturday December 8

All-Ireland Ladies Senior Club Final – Foxrock-Cabinteely (Dublin) v Mourneabbey (Cork); Parnell Park, Donnycarney, Dublin, 5.15pm. LIVE TG4/RTÉ Radio 1.

The 2018 All-Ireland Senior Club Final promises to be a game to savour – as players who featured in the TG4 All-Ireland Senior Final between Dublin and Cork renew acquaintances.

Mourneabbey have newly-crowned TG4 All Star sisters Ciara and Doireann O’Sullivan in a potent attack – and they’ve been in a rich vein of recent form.

At the back, defenders Maire O’Callaghan and Eimear Meaney were also nominated for All Stars this year.

Fox-Cab have Dublin All-Ireland winners Sinead Goldrick, Niamh Collins, Amy Connolly, Hannah O’Neill, Emma McDonagh and Tarah O’Sullivan in their starting line-up – and Goldrick was honoured with a sixth TG4 All Star award last weekend.

Recent heartbreak will turn to ecstasy for one of these clubs, with Mourneabbey ready for a fourth final in five seasons.

They’ve lost their previous three appearances, in 2014, 2105 and last year against Carnacon.

In the 2017 All-Ireland semi-final, Mourneabbey got the better of Saturday’s opponents, but they needed extra-time to do it.

Fox-Cab were finalists two years ago but they were outclassed by Donaghmoyne on the day.

The Monaghan club specialists had also beaten Fox-Cab in the 2015 semi-final but there was sweet revenge recently when Roisin McGovern’s late goal stunned Donaghmoyne at the semi-final stage.

McGovern has to be content with a place on the bench once again as both teams have named unchanged starting line-ups following their respective semi-finals.

Mourneabbey were excellent on their visit to Galway, for a meeting with Kilkerrin-Clonberne, who had knocked out Carnacon.

Doireann (0-8) and Ciara O’Sullivan contributed 0-11 between them as Mourneabbey produced with manager Shane Ronayne described as a “controlled” performance.

Foxrock-Cabinteely: A Tarpey; A Murray, S Quinn, E McDonagh; S Goldrick, N Collins, L Fusciardi; T O’Sullivan, C Ní Mhurchadh; L Nerney, A Connolly, F Claffey; H O’Neill, C O’Riordan, A Ring.

Mourneabbey: M O’Sullivan; E Meaney, C.A. Stack, A O’Sullivan; S Conroy, R O’Sullivan, K Coakley; M O’Callaghan, B O’Sullivan; E Harrington, C O’Sullivan, N O’Sullivan; E Jack, L Fitzgerald, D O’Sullivan.

All-Ireland Ladies Intermediate Club Final – Clontarf (Dublin) v Emmet Óg (Monaghan); Parnell Park, Donnycarney, Dublin, 7.30pm. LIVE TG4.

Two first-time finalists meet in the Intermediate decider as Dublin and Leinster champions Clontarf take on Monaghan and Ulster standard-bearers Emmet Óg.

Clontarf finally landed the Dublin title after losing the three previous finals and they’ve pushed on from there.

Mick Cronin’s charges were extremely impressive in their All-Ireland semi-final victory over St Brendan’s, knocking six goals past the Galway outfit.

Former Ireland women’s rugby team captain Fiona Coghlan is on the bench for Clontarf while Kate Fitzgibbon, Siobhán Killeen and Katie Murray were members of Dublin’s TG4 All-Ireland Senior Championship winning squad.

A Dublin club has never won the Intermediate Club Final, although Thomas Davis (2013) and St Brigid’s (2009) did reach this stage.

There has been a Monaghan winner of this competition previously, and that was a decade ago when Emyvale got the better of Ballingeary/Inchigeelagh from Cork.

The stand-out performer for Emmet Óg is county star Ellen McCarron, who bagged 2-3 in the All-Ireland semi-final victory over Dunedin Connollys.

Chloe McBride was also on target with two goals in that game and this final has the potential to deliver a cracker.

Clontarf captain Sarah Murphy earns a recall to the starting team and replaces Kate Fitzgibbon, while there are three changes to the Emmet Óg team that started against Dunedin Connollys.

Kerry Nolan, Anita Newell and Laura Boylan are replaced by Katie Monaghan, Orla Reilly and Gráinne McCluskey.

Clontarf: C O’Connor; H Bolger, K Murray, E Plunkett; H McLaughlin, G Reilly, B Walsh; S Fagan, N Hetherton; S Murphy, T Fitzgibbon, F Skelly; S Killeen, C O’Connor, A Bell.

Emmet Óg: D Morgan; R Hughes, Á McQuaid, K Monaghan; N Rooney, C McBride, M Monaghan; M McCarville, E Daly; E Leonard, E McCarron, O Reilly; F Monaghan, B Tierney, G McCluskey.

Share This With Your Friends

Add To Facebook Share On Twitter