Connect With Dublin GAA

Visit DubsTV
County News
Flashback: Dublin v Kerry Allianz NFL 2018

Flashback: Dublin v Kerry Allianz NFL 2018

Tue, 20th February 2024

By Conor Martin 

Another chapter in the Dublin v Kerry history book is ready to be written at Croke Park this weekend when the two teams face off in the Allianz Football League. Conor Martin heads through the time tunnel and looks back at Dublin’s last league win over the Kingdom in 2018, which saw the Boys in Blue win by 12 points. 

Kerry had dethroned Dublin in the league final the previous year and Jim Gavin’s men were on a mission to reclaim the league title. This was their fifth win on the bounce before they ultimately won the league with a four-point win over Galway in the final. 

Kerry were out of the traps quicker than Dublin. David Clifford, Paul Geaney and Micheál Burns were Kerry’s driving forces, while Ciarán Kilkenny made sure Kerry had limited breathing space. The Green and Gold probably should have had a goal to show for their efforts, but Geaney’s effort could only rattle the upright while Seán O’Shea could only fire wide from a promising chance. 

The game turned on its head after Niall Scully palmed the ball home from a Shane Carthy pass. Dublin never looked back and would lead 1-8 to 0-8 at the midway point and Kerry would go without a score for 29 minutes. 

Dublin really took the game to their opponents after the break, with Paddy Andrews and Paddy Small putting the Dubs four up just before Kilkenny grabbed Dublin’s second goal of the game after some good work in the lead-up to the goal from Small and Colm Basquel.

Also, on the scorers list that day were Dean Rock, Basquel, Cormac Costello and defenders Philly McMahon and Johnny Cooper. 

The Dublin defence were also on top form that day and limited Kerry to just three points in the second-half with Cooper proving to be the source of Kerry’s frustration. 

Excellent performances all over the pitch made sure Dublin were well deserving of the 2-17 to 0-11 victory, which is still remembered as one of the best performances from a Dublin side against Kerry. 

Scorers for Dublin: Ciaran Kilkenny 1-3, Niall Scully 1-1, Dean Rock 0-4 (0-3f), Paddy Andrews 0-3, Colm Basquel 0-2, Jonny Cooper, Cormac Costello, Philly McMahon, Paddy Small 0-1 each

Scorers for Kerry: David Clifford 0-4 (0-2f), Kevin McCarthy, Micheál Burns 0-2 each, Sean O’Shea, Paul Geaney, Michael Geaney 0-1 each

Share This With Your Friends

Add To Facebook Share On Twitter