Connect With Dublin GAA

Visit DubsTV
County News
Flynn creates All Star history

Flynn creates All Star history

Thu, 23rd October 2014

Paul Flynn has become the first Dublin footballer to be selected on the All Stars football team for four years in-a-row.

The GAA and GPA in association with Opel today confirmed the 2014 Football All Stars with three Dubs being named on the team of the year with James McCarthy and Diarmuid Connolly, both for the first time being honoured.

All-Ireland champions Kerry lead the way with five awards after their final success against Donegal.

Paul Murphy, Peter Crowley, David Moran, Kieran Donaghy and James O' Donoghue have all been selected in the 15.

Beaten finalists Donegal receive four awards and the beaten semi-finalists Mayo and Dublin each earn three.

In all there are six first-time recipients with Paul Murphy joined by James McCarthy, Peter Crowley, David Moran, Diarmuid Connolly and Cillian O'Connor, who adds an All Star to the underage awards he has previously collected.

Uachtarán Chumann Lúthchleas Gael Liam Ó Néill congratulated the shortlisted 15.

He said: “It was another superb year for our championships and the 15 footballers named on this team played their part in that, producing superb performances that powered their respective counties' challenges.

“After an All-Ireland medal All Star awards are cherished and the tradition and significance attached to them remind us of legacy that previous winners have left behind.

“I congratulate and laud all of the winners and those who featured on the nominees' list. I'd also like to thank the GPA and Opel for their ongoing support of these awards.”

GPA CEO Dessie Farrell added: “Congratulations to this year's All Star footballers on their contributions to a magnificent season. While the team will always take precedence the award scheme allows us to shine a light on the brilliant individual performances during the year. We look forward to celebrating with the players tomorrow night. Thanks to Opel and Dave Sheeran for their wonderful support of the All-Star awards scheme and to the selection and steering committees for their work in making the difficult choices. Thanks also to Liam O'Neill, Páraic Duffy and the GAA for their support of the awards.”

Dave Sheeran MD Opel Ireland added: “As true fans of the sport and the official car partner of the GAA and GPA, Opel is delighted to acknowledge the individual contributions of this year's Opel sponsored GAA/GPA Football All Stars.

“The 2014 Football season was once again packed with brilliant performances and epic clashes, so congratulations to the 15 players whose stand out performances makes them the well-deserved recipients of this year's award.

The Hurling selection will be announced live on RTÉ television on Friday evening as will the Player of the Year and Young Player of the Year winners in both codes.


1 Paul Durcan (Donegal) 2nd award

2 Paul Murphy (Kerry) 1st

3 Neil McGee (Donegal) 3rd

4 Keith Higgins (Mayo) 3rd

5 James McCarthy (Dublin) 1st

6 Peter Crowley (Kerry) 1st

7 Colm Boyle (Mayo) 2nd

8 Neil Gallagher (Donegal) 2nd

9 David Moran (Kerry) 1st

10 Paul Flynn (Dublin) 4th

11 Michael Murphy (Donegal) 2nd

12 Diarmuid Connolly (Dublin) 1st

13 Cillian O’Connor (Mayo) 1st

14 Kieran Donaghy (Kerry) 3rd

15 James O’Donoghue (Kerry) 2nd

COUNTY BREAKDOWN: Kerry 5, Donegal 4, Dublin 3, Mayo 3


1974: Paddy Cullen, Seán Doherty, Robbie Kelleher, Paddy Reilly, David Hickey, Jimmy Keaveney

1975: Gay O’Driscoll, Robbie Kelleher, Anton O’Toole

1976: Paddy Cullen, Kevin Moran, Brian Mullins, Anton O’Toole, Tony Hanohoe, David Hickey, Bobby Doyle

1977: Paddy Cullen, Gay O’Driscoll, Robbie Kelleher, Tommy Drumm, Pat O’Neill, Brian Mullins, Anton O’Toole, Bobby Doyle, Jimmy Keaveney

1978: Robbie Kelleher, Tommy Drumm, Jimmy Keaveney

1979: Paddy Cullen, Tommy Drumm, Bernard Brogan

1983: Pat Canavan, Tommy Drumm, Barney Rock, Joe McNally

1984: John O’Leary, PJ Buckley, Barney Rock

1985: John O’Leary, Gerry Hargan, Barney Rock, Tommy Conroy

1987: Kieran Duff

1988: Mick Kennedy, Noel McCaffrey, Kieran Duff

1989: Gerry Hargan

1991: Mick Deegan, Tommy Carr, Keith Barr

1992: Paul Curran, Eamon Heery, Vinnie Murphy

1993: John O’Leary, Dermot Deasy, Charlie Redmond

1994: John O’Leary, Jack Sheedy, Charlie Redmond

1995: John O’ Leary, Paul Curran, Keith Barr, Brian Stynes, Dessie Farrell, Paul Clarke, Charlie Redmond

1996: Paul Curran

1999: Ciarán Whelan

2001: Coman Goggins

2002: Stephen Cluxton, Ray Cosgrove, Paddy Christie

2006: Stephen Cluxton, Alan Brogan

2007: Stephen Cluxton, Barry Cahill, Ciarán Whelan, Alan Brogan

2008: Shane Ryan

2011: Stephen Cluxton, Kevin Nolan, MD MacAuley, Alan Brogan, Paul Flynn, Bernard Brogan

2012: Paul Flynn

2013: Stephen Cluxton, Rory O’Carroll, Cian O’Sullivan, MD Macauley, Paul Flynn, Bernard Brogan

2014: James McCarthy, Paul Flynn, Diarmuid Connolly

Share This With Your Friends

Add To Facebook Share On Twitter