Connect With Dublin GAA

Visit DubsTV
County News
FODH Awards Night- A celebration of hurling and camogie in the Capital

FODH Awards Night- A celebration of hurling and camogie in the Capital

Mon, 27th November 2023

An attendance of over 250 gathered in the Bonnington Hotel recently to celebrate with the hurlers and camogie players of Dublin for the Friends of Dublin Hurling annual awards night. 

Guests on the night included Tom Ryan, Ard Stiurthóir Cumann Lúthchleas Gael, members of the 1965 Dublin Minor Hurling team, Vice chairperson of the Dublin GAA Board, Ken O'Sullivan, Chairperson of Dublin Camogie Board Karl O'Brien, members of the Dublin Camogie Senior team & Barry Andrews MEP. 

Past pupils of Coláiste Eoin entertained the guests as they arrived. 

The night began with presentations to both schools of the Year. Primary School of the Year went to St.Cronans Priamry School, Swords. 

Up next came Terenure College who scooped the 2nd Level School of the year. Both Awards were presented by Robert Ford of O'Neills International Sport's Company LTD.

Hot on their heels came the Award for Coach of the Year. 

Only the 2nd year for this award, it went to the great Mick Keville of Ballyboden St. Endas who has done massive work in terms of coaching over the years and it was nice to see him recognised. 

Barry Andrews MEP was on hand to do the presentation.

Ardstiurthóir Tom Ryan was next up to present na Gaeil Óga with their award for the juvenile club of the year and also for the promotion of the Irish language in the club. 

Recently crowned Dublin Hurling champions Na Fianna were deserving winners of the Senior Club of the Year Award.

John Holmes, of Marino, but who went to live in Nass many years back was given special recognition for his work in the promotion of hurling in the area. A signed copy of Humphrey Kelleher's book "A Place to Play" was his reward.

Former National Camogie PRO Máire Uí Scolaí was called upon to present the Camogie Player of the Year Awards. 

Gaby Couch of the St. Oliver Plunketts/Eoghan Ruadh Club who took the Young Player of the Year Award last year was back to take the Senior Player of the Year Award while Abby Ryan of the Crumlin club was over the moon as she accepted the Young Player of the year Award.

That left the hurling players of the year awards which went to Whitehall Colmcille and Dublin player Daire Gray (senior) while Naomh Barróg and Dublin player Paddy Doyle received the young player of the year award.

The last award of the night, the Lar Foley Hall of Fame Award went to the great Seán Shanley. 

Seán, accompanied by his wife Phyllis and family walked to the podium with a great standing ovation. 

There to present the great man with this much sought after award were Eugene Davey, Chairperson of FODH and Barbara Foley, daughter of the late Lar. 

A fitting end to a great night for hurling and camogie in the capital.

Share This With Your Friends

Add To Facebook Share On Twitter