Connect With Dublin GAA

Visit DubsTV
County News
Four young Dubs honoured on Rising Stars selections

Four young Dubs honoured on Rising Stars selections

Tue, 17th April 2018

Two Dublin senior hurlers and two senior footballers have been named on the 2018 Electric Ireland Higher Education Rising Stars selections.

Hurlers Eoghan O'Donnell and Donal Burke (both DCU Dochas Eireann) and footballers Andrew McGowan (DIT) and Conor Mullally (UCD) have been honoured.

These awards acknowledge outstanding performances in the battle for the third level football and hurling championships and come at the end of what was another epic season of third level GAA action.

Electric Ireland Fitzgibbon Cup hurling champions UL were a class apart in 2018. They dominate the final 15 with no fewer than seven young heroes chosen on a star-studded selection that has a representation from across five teams and includes names already well-known at inter-county level such as Dublin duo Eoghan O’Donnell and Donal Burke as well as Waterford’s Colin Dunford, and Tipp duo Jason Forde and John McGrath.

The battle for the Electric Ireland Sigerson Cup was also a close fought affair and again there are five third level institutions contributing star players with UCD (5) and NUIG (4) the dominant presence.

Congratulating the winners, Uachtarán CLG John Horan said: “Over the last number of years it has become a real statement of intent from young players involved at third level football and hurling championships that the form they show here is a sign of things to come at inter-county level.

“Indeed, many of those chosen here have already embarked on senior inter-county careers and are making headlines. I’ve no doubt more of these names will follow them in the years to come.

“We are delighted that our third-level institutions, which are rated so highly all over the world for the calibre of young people they help to mould, are so committed to the promotion and playing of our Games and we appreciate that support.

“The Higher Education competitions produce games of the highest quality and these awards carry a major standing as a result.

“Our thanks to Electric Ireland for their support and we look forward to watching these young heroes continue to develop their talents at club and county level.”

Electric Ireland HE GAA Rising Stars Hurling Team 2018

  1. David McCarthy (UL)
  2. Conor Cleary (UL)
  3. Eoghan O’Donnell (DCU DE)
  4. Seán Finn (UL)
  5. Gearóid Hegarty (UL)
  6. Brian Hogan (Maynooth University)
  7. David Fitzgerald (UL)
  8. Colin Dunford (Carlow IT)
  9. Joe O’Connor (DCU DE)
  10. John Donnelly (DCU DE)
  11. Martin Kavanagh (Carlow IT)
  12. Donal Burke (DCU DE)
  13. Niall O’Brien (DIT)
  14. Jason Forde (UL)
  15. John McGrath (UL)

Electric Ireland HE GAA Rising Stars Football Team 2018

1.Tadhg O’Malley (NUIG)

2. Andrew McGowan (DIT)

3. Brian Power (DIT)

4. Seán Mulkerrin (NUIG)

5. Conor Mullally (UCD)

6. Gareth McKinless (UU)

7. Michael McKernan (UU)

8. Jack Barry (UCD)

9. Liam Casey (UCD)

10. Enda Tierney (NUIG)

11. Conor McCarthy (UCD)

12. Liam Carey (Mary Immaculate College)

13. Mark Bradley (UU)

14. Damien Comer (NUIG)

15. Evan O’Carroll (UCD)

Share This With Your Friends

Add To Facebook Share On Twitter