Connect With Dublin GAA

Visit DubsTV
Club News
Fox on the double as Crokes crowned JFC ‘A’ champions

Fox on the double as Crokes crowned JFC ‘A’ champions

Wed, 5th October 2016

Kilmacud Crokes were crowed Dublin JFC ‘A’ winners for 2016 when overcoming St Oliver Plunkett’s/Eoghan Ruad by the minimum (2-9 to 1-11) last Sunday in Parnell Park.

Gareth Fox was the top-scorers for Crokes with a personal tally of 2-3 (1-0 pen, 0-1f).

The sides were level five times in the second half before Seán O’Connor’s winning point in the fourth minute of added time.

Crokes led by 1-3 to 0-3 at the interval with Fox hitting the Crokes goal from play.

Nine minutes into the second half, Plunkett’s got a goal that edged them two points clear when Leigh Herron finished from close range.

However, a minute later Fox found the net from the spot.

Plunkett’s equalised on the hour with Conor Bresnan’s point, O’Connor put Crokes ahead again before Herron equalised in a dramatic conclusion.

In the 64th came the winner when O’Connor slotted over to see Crokes win the title for the first time in 30 years.

Share This With Your Friends

Add To Facebook Share On Twitter