Connect With Dublin GAA

Visit DubsTV
Club News
Hannon’s heroics see Whitehall snatch victory over Boden in MFC ‘A’ decider

Hannon’s heroics see Whitehall snatch victory over Boden in MFC ‘A’ decider

Sun, 25th November 2018

Kerrie Hannon etched his named into Whitehall Colmcille folklore when his stunning late goal saw his side capture the Dublin MFC 'A' title in dramatic fashion in Parnell Park on Sunday morning.

Hannon, a 58th minute substitute, made a supersub impact when he fired home the winning goal to the top corner from 20 metres a minute later as Whitehall captured the honours 2-7 to 0-12.

Whitehall led by four points, 1-6 to 0-5, early in the second-half following Jamie Byrne's first-half goal but Boden took control to edge in front with the finishing line in sight only to have victory snatched away by Hannon's heroics.

John McGinn's freetaking accuracy and two points from Dublin minor of this year, Enda Cashman, had St Enda's on top late on as Whitehall went over 20 minutes without scoring.

Jamie Byrne broke Boden's chain of scores but sub Cillian Wall regained Boden's two-point lead but then came Hannon's match-winning impact to seal victory for Whitehall.

SCORERS - Whitehall Colmcille: J Byrne 1-2, K Hannon 1-0, L Gannon 0-2, A McDermott, S Foran, O Murray 0-1 each. Ballyboden St Enda’s: J McGinn 0-7 (0-7f), E Cashman 0-2, S O’Donnell, M Walsh, C Wall 0-1 each.

WHITEHALL COLMCILLE: M Kenny; S Giles, S Lyons, Cian Murphy; J Murray, D O’Connell, J Thorp; Ciaran Murphy, A McNally; A McDermott, S Foran, O Murray; D Foster Carroll, L Gannon, J Byrne. Subs: J Leonard for Foster Carroll (42), K Hannon for J Murray (58).

BALLYBODEN ST ENDA’S: J Turley; K Desmond, C Kirwan, S O’Donnell; C Hanrahan, P Dunleavy, C Maher; M Walsh, C Lowe; P Christie, C O’Reilly, L McDwyer; P Gannon, E Cashman, J McGinn. Subs: M Codd for Christie (20, BC), C Wall for Gannon (h-t).

Share This With Your Friends

Add To Facebook Share On Twitter