Connect With Dublin GAA

Visit DubsTV
County News
Impressive second half sees U17 hurlers into Leinster final

Impressive second half sees U17 hurlers into Leinster final

Sat, 20th May 2017


A powerful start to the second half put Dublin's U17 hurlers on the road to victory in this Leinster U17HC semi-final against Wexford in Parnell Park on Saturday afternoon.

The young Dubs will face Kilkenny in the provincial decider, the Cats defeated Offaly 2-17 to 0-11 in Birr on Sunday in their semi-final.

Dublin trailed 0-8 to 0-11 at half-time and the Slaneysiders had stretched their advantage by a point on the restart.

But then Dublin sprung into action and finished the game on top to run out nine-point victors.

Two Liam Murphy frees and one from play from Micheal Murphy brought the sides level - 0-11 to 0-11 by the 34th minute.

A superb Tom Aherne goal put Dublin in front for the first time since the 25th minute of the opening half.

Dublin were never in arrears again with Liam Murphy adding three points, including two frees, to lead 1-14 to 0-14 by the 41st minute.

Dublin kept the pressure on with scores from Kevin Desmond, Sean Clerkin and Billy Ryan, who finished with a tally of 0-6, moved Fintan Clandillon's side 1-17 to 0-14 clear.

The Dubs maintained their tempo to the end with Kevin Desmond and Billy Ryan tagging on scores before Andrew Carroll hit a 58th minute goal, a just reward for Dublin's second half efforts.

SCORERS – Dublin: L Murphy 0-9 (0-8f), B Ryan 0-6, T Aherne, A Carroll 1-0 each, K Desmond 0-2, M Murphy, S Clerkin, K Kirwan 0-1 each. Wexford: R Banville 0-11 (0-10f), E Doyle, M Gahan (0-1f), B Stafford, S Delaney, S O’Connor, C Doyle 0-1 each.

DUBLIN: E Gibbons; A Dunphy, K Burke, T Kinnane; L Gannon, E O’Donnell, H Sviglinskas; T Aherne, M Murphy; M Grogan, B Ryan, K Desmond; L Murphy, K Kirwan, L McDwyer. Subs: S Clerkin for Grogan (22), A Carroll for McDwyer (46), S Kinsella for Ryan (55), A Hatt for Aherne (58), C Berigan for L Murphy (60).

WEXFORD: S Cooper; S Audsley, T Ryan, C Gahan; E Doyle, M Gahan, C Crowley; B Stafford, R Banville; L Coleman, S Delaney, M O’Connor; C Doyle, S O’Connor, R Broaders. Subs: J Lawlor for M O’Connor (34), C Clancy for Stafford (41), K Donoghue for Delaney (55).

REF: Conor Daly (Kildare).

Share This With Your Friends

Add To Facebook Share On Twitter