Connect With Dublin GAA

Visit DubsTV
County News
Jackies primed for Kerry test in SFC quarter-final

Jackies primed for Kerry test in SFC quarter-final

Fri, 10th August 2018

TG4 All-Ireland Senior Championship Quarter-Final
Dublin v Kerry; Sunday, 5pm, Dr Hyde Park, Roscommon (LIVE, TG4)

A repeat of last year’s All-Ireland semi-final sees Dublin and Kerry lock horns a round earlier in Sunday's TG4 Ladies All-Ireland SFC quarter-final in Dr Hyde Park, (5.0).

Dublin ran out 5-10 to 0-11 winners on that occasion but Kerry did get within five points of the Sky Blues during the group stages of the Lidl National League Division 1 campaign earlier this year.

Dublin cruised through to the last eight after seeing off Cavan and Mayo over the course of successive weekends.

Kerry, meanwhile, gave a good account of themselves in Group 1, seeing off Tipperary in a critical fixture before running Donegal to a point.

There’s stability back in the Kingdom under the stewardship of Eddie Sheehy, and with former Munster and Kerry GAA chairman, and ex-GAA presidential candidate Sean Walsh the current Kerry chair.

Dublin are aiming for a second successive All-Ireland title but they won’t get anything easy from Kerry as they eye up a semi-final clash with Galway or Mayo.

Kerry are a settled bunch again and there’s just one change to the starting team that lined out against Donegal, with Laoise Coghlan coming in for Andrea Murphy.

Dublin, meanwhile, will announce their starting 15 after training on Friday evening, for the LIVE TG4 offering.

Dublin will provide the ultimate test for Kerry, and the accurate gauge of how far they’ve come in a short space of time since suffering relegation from Division 1 of the Lidl League.

The Dublin juggernaut is expected to trundle on into the last four but manager Mick Bohan is a keen admirer of Kerry and the talented individuals they possess.

Dublin: Ciara Trant (St Brigid's), Martha Byrne (Cuala), Niamh Collins (Foxrock Cabinteely), Leah Caffrey (Na Fianna), Sinead Goldrick (Foxrock Cabinteely), Olwen Carey (Thomas Davis), Sinead Finnegan (Fingallians), Lauren Magee (Kilmacud Crokes), Siobhan McGrath (Thomas Davis), Nicole Owens (St Sylvester’s), Lyndsey Davey (Skerries Harps), Carla Rowe (Clann Mhuire), Sinead Aherne (St Sylvester's), Niamh McEvoy (St Sylvester’s), Noelle Healy (St Brigid’s). Replacements: Muireann Ni Scanaill (Fingallians), Jennifer Dunne (Cuala), Lucy Collins (Na Fianna), Siobhan Woods (Raheny), Deirdre Murphy (St Brigid's), Amy Connolly (Foxrock Cabinteely), Hannah O'Neill (Foxrock Cabinteely), Katie Murray (Clontarf), Tarah O'Sullivan (Foxrock Cabinteely), Eabha Rutledge (Kilmacud Crokes), Oonagh Whyte (Clann Mhuire), Aoife Kane (Kilmacud Crokes), Siobhan Killeen (Clontarf), Ciara Lynch (St Sylvester’s), Dannielle Lawless (St Sylvester’s).

Kerry: L Fitzgerald; L Coughlan, A Desmond, E Lynch; D Kearney, S Murphy, A O’Connell; L Scanlon, A Brosnan; E Dineen, L Ní Mhuircheartaigh, A Foley; K O’Sullivan, E O’Leary, S Houlihan.

Share This With Your Friends

Add To Facebook Share On Twitter