Connect With Dublin GAA

Visit DubsTV
Club News
Kilmacud Crokes’ Shane Cunningham Crowned AIB Club Footballer of the Year

Kilmacud Crokes’ Shane Cunningham Crowned AIB Club Footballer of the Year

Mon, 13th March 2023

Kilmacud Crokes' Shane Cunningham has been named as the AIB Club Footballer of the Year. 

Cunningham captained Crokes as they claimed Dublin, Leinster and All-Ireland glory in 2022/23. 

Ballyhale Shamrocks' Joey Holden picked up the Club Hurler of the Year award. 

The winners were announced at the AIB GAA Club Player Awards ceremony at Croke Park on Friday evening. 

Shane was also included in the AIB Club Football Team of the Year, alongside six of his clubmates- Conor Ferris, Dan O’Brien, Andrew McGowan, Rory O’Carroll, Dara Mullin and Shane Walsh. 

The Hurling Team of the Year was dominated by Ballyhale Shamrocks with nine players selected, with three players from beaten finalists Dunloy also included as well as three representatives from Munster champions Ballygunner

Uachtarán Cumann Lúthchleas Gael, Larry McCarthy stated: “Our congratulations to both Shane Cunningham and Joey Holden on being awarded the AIB GAA Footballer and Hurler of the Year this evening. 

The AIB GAA All-Ireland Club Championships are unique championships, which brings communities to life and gives players an opportunity to represent their community on the national stage. 

I extend my congratulations to all of the players who have been named on the AIB GAA Club Team of the Year. 

I sincerely thank AIB for their outstanding support of these competitions for many years and I am looking forward to what next year’s championships will bring.”

Share This With Your Friends

Add To Facebook Share On Twitter