Connect With Dublin GAA

Visit DubsTV
County News
Masters meet Tyrone next in repeat of last year’s final

Masters meet Tyrone next in repeat of last year’s final

Tue, 11th June 2019

Dublin Masters footballers (over-40s) face Tyrone his Saturday (Lacken Celtic GAA, Cavan, 3.0) in their fourth game of this year's competition.

It's a repeat of last summer's All-Ireland Masters final when the Dubs defeated the Ulster county 1-14 to 1-12 in Fr Manning Gaels, Drumlish, Longford.

The Dubs could have won by more but spurned several second-half scoring opportunities but the deadball accuracy of Niall Crossan and a ‘45’ from Johnny McNally deservedly saw Dublin to glory with the hard running of Ciaran McGuinness a key factor in the second-half.

Dublin, who are managed by Val Andrews, have overcome Down (5-12 to 0-10), Roscommon (2-17 to 0-9) and Laois (3-11 to 3-7) in their games to date.

Ritchie Herrity was the scorer-in-chief for the Dubs last time out tallying 3-1 against the Mourne County men with the other goals coming from Trevor Tansey (penalty) and Joey O'Rourke.

Dublin's scoring was completed by Ciaran McGuinness (0-3), Tommy Brennan (0-3), Anthony Briody (0-2), Derek Byrne (0-1), Craig Kilmurray (0-1) and Damian Flanagan (0-1).

Tyrone also hold a 100 per cent record after three games following victories over Cavan, Antrim and Donegal.

There are 16 teams in total participating this year with the top four progressing to the semi-finals.

Following Saturday's tie Dublin have games remaining against Mayo (Saturday, June 29) and Kildare (Saturday, July 27).

The other counties taking part are Clare, Antrim, Cavan, Sligo, Donegal, London, Galway, Roscommon, Westmeath and a combined Leitrim/Longford selection.

Share This With Your Friends

Add To Facebook Share On Twitter