Connect With Dublin GAA

Visit DubsTV
Club News

Maur’s capture SFC ‘B’ crown

Tue, 28th October 2014


A powerful second half display saw Maur’s run out convincing Dublin SFC ‘B’ winners after Monday night’s final at Parnell Park.

Things began brightly for Tower’s with Derek Murray’s brilliantly executed goal inside 25 seconds but by the close of the first half the men from Rush were beginning to exert their control.

Maur’s were more full of running at this stage and in Ciarán Reddin and the impressive Conor McGuire had two match-winners.

However, the Rush side were failing to turn possession into scores as they trailed by one point, 1-2 to 0-4 at the break.

Ten minutes into the second half Reddin’s point effort deceived Tower’s keeper Karl Graham and ended in the net and it was the catalyst for the north county men to press on for victory.

SCORERS– St Maur’s: C Reddin 1-3, C McGuire 0-5 (0-2f), K Watson, V Whelan 1-0 each, D McGuinness, C Carthy 0-1 each. Round Tower Clondalkin: D Murray 1-0, C Corrigan (0-1f), C L’Estrange (0-2f) 0-2, E Moran 0-1.

ST MAUR’S: M Butterly; P Butterly, S McGuinness, K Sweetman; E Fletcher, N Walsh, K Nugent; M O’Reilly, L Fletcher; D McGuinness, C Sweetman, D O’Donnell; C Carthy, C Reddin, C McGuire. Subs: V Whelan for O’Donnell (26-29, Blood Sub), Whelan for Nugent (half-time), K Watson for C Sweetman (39), R McGuire for O’Donnell (51), J Burke for Carthy (56), B Cronin for L Fletcher (58).

ROUND TOWER CLONDALKIN: K Graham; S Ó Donnagáin, M Gahan, B Costello; J Murphy, I Ward, C L’Estrange; D Murray, L Connolly; E finn, M Walsh, E Moran; N Lanigan, M Hallows, C Corrigan.Subs: E Moore for Costello (39), C Carty for Hallowes (43), M Taylor for Corrigan (49), J Joyce for Walsh (53), D McCarthy for Moran (56), D Gregg for Murphy (56).

REF: S McCarthy (St Vincent’s).

Share This With Your Friends

Add To Facebook Share On Twitter