Connect With Dublin GAA

Visit DubsTV
County News
Minor footballers primed for tough duel with Westmeath

Minor footballers primed for tough duel with Westmeath

Tue, 18th June 2019

Dublin minor footballers will be hoping to keep their winning streak going when they face Westmeath in TEG Cusack Park, Mullingar this Saturday (3.45) in their Electric Ireland Leinster MFC semi-final.

The game is the curtain-raiser to the All-Ireland SFC qualifier between Westmeath and Limerick (6.0).

Westmeath beat Longford (2-8 to 0-8), lost to Laois (3-6 1-11) and overcame Carlow (4-12 to 0-8) to finish Group 1 as runners-up behind the O'Moore County.

In their quarter-final they delivered their best display of the campaign when toppling Meath 2-15 to 1-14 in extra-time in Cusack Park.

Looking forward to this Saturday's big challenge Dublin minor football manager Jim Lehane said: "It's nice to have another trip to look forward to and the lads really enjoy the buzz that comes with playing away from home.

"They have been fortunate to have played in a number of venues over the past few weeks and that helps with their development.

"We are expecting a very tough challenge on Saturday as Westmeath have already proven how good they are this year.

"I thought they showed great resilience in the quarter-final against Meath, kicking the last two scores to force extra-time and then going on to win it from there.

"We are really looking forward to testing ourselves against them and with their seniors playing Limerick in the qualifiers immediately afterwards there should be a great atmosphere in the ground.

"Training has been really good since the Wicklow game and I have been delighted with the intensity and effort the lads have shown," added Jim.



Dublin minor footballers have scored 9-55 and conceded 4-42 in their four games to date (wins against Meath, Wexford, Offaly, Wicklow). Twelve players have contributed so far to their scoring tally.

Fionn Murray 3-17 (0-12f, 0-2 '45')

Robbie Bolger 3-7

Luke Swan 1-5

Ryan O'Dwyer 1-5 (0-2f)

Seán Kinsella 1-4

Alex Rogers 0-5

Luke Curran 0-3

David O'Dowd 0-2

Dara Fagan 0-2

Callum Monaghan 0-2

Ross Keogh 0-2

Luke Murphy-Guinane 0-1




TUESDAY, APRIL 23: Parnell Park

DUBLIN 4-10 MEATH 2-10

SCORERS – Dublin: R O’Dwyer 1-2, F Murray 0-4 (0-3f), S Kinsella, L Swan 1-1 each, R Bolger 1-0, A Rogers, D O’Dowd 0-1 each. Meath: D Bell 1-1, N Finnerty 0-3, A Chinchilla 1-0, P Sheridan, E Frayne (0-2f), B Thompson (0-2f) 0-2 each.

DUBLIN: H O'Sullivan; C Tyrell, B Millst, C Archer; A Watson, S Forker, J Lundy; L Murphy-Guinane, D O'Dowd; R O'Dwyer, S Kinsella, A Rogers; R Bolger, F Murray, D Fagan. Subs: L Swan for Rogers (ht), T Brennan for Fagan (40), L Curran for Bolger (50), K Conroy for Forker (51), H Colclough for Murphy-Guinane (60), E Gannon for Archer (63).

MEATH: D Pluck; J Fagan, A King, H Corscadden; H Ryan, A Chinchilla, C Caulfield; J Carolan, C Hegarty; E Corrigan, N Finnerty, E Frayne; P Sheridan, B Thompson, D Bell. Subs: S Smyth for Corrigan (23), E Ehichoya for Corscadden (46), S O'Donoghue for Ryan (48).

REF: A Coyne (Westmeath).



WEDNESDAY, MAY 8: Bellefield, Enniscorthy


SCORERS - Dublin: F Murray 2-6 (0-6f), R Bolger 1-3, D Fagan, S Kinsella, L Curran 0-1 each. Wexford: J O'Leary 0-4 (0-2f, 0-1 '45'), J Curtis 1-1, L Whelan 0-3 (0-1f), R O'Connor, R Connolly 0-1 each.

DUBLIN: H O'Sullivan; C Tyrell, B Millst, C Archer; A Watson, D O'Dowd, J Lundy; H Colclough, S Forker; R O'Dwyer, S Kinsella, F Murray; D Fagan, L Swan, R Bolger. Subs: E Gannon for Archer (ht), L Murphy-Guinane for Colclough (43), B Harding for Lundy (48), K Conroy for Watson (54), L Curran for Fagan (56).

WEXFORD: T Kennedy; L Newport, B Cushe, E Doyle; P Darcy, J Bolger, L Whelan; P Deeney, T Kavanagh; T Barron, R O'Connor, S Kehoe; L Doyle, J O'Leary, C Regan. Subs: J Curtis for Barron (27), R Connolly for Bolger (30+3), L Crowley for Kehoe (37), O Waters for Deeney (59).

REF: K Harris (Kildare).



WEDNESDAY, MAY 15: O'Connor Park, Tullamore


SCORERS – Dublin: R Bolger 1-3, F Murray 1-1 (0-1 ‘45’), L Swan 0-3, C Monaghan 0-2, D O’Dowd, S Kinsella, D Fagan, R Keogh 0-1 each. Offaly: C Delaney 0-6 (0-4f, 0-1 ’45’), M Tynan 0-4 (0-3f), D Flynn 0-2, J Sheerin 0-1.

DUBLIN: H O’Sullivan; C Tyrell, B Millist, E Gannon; A Watson, D O’Dowd, J Lundy; H Colclough, S Forker; L Curran, S Kinsella, F Murray; D Fagan, L Swan, R Bolger. Subs: K Conroy for Forker (inj, 22), C Monaghan for Gannon (bc, ht), R Keogh for Fagan (45), L Murphy-Guinane for Curran (50), C Nugent for Colclough (57), FJ Turner for O’Dowd (57).

OFFALY: C Ryan; M Bolton, F Dempsey, D Dempsey; J Furlong, A Strong, L Pearson; R Strong, L Egan; J Sheerin, C Delaney, A Kelly; H Plunkett, M Tynan, D Flynn. Subs: J Nolan for Bolton (ht), D Daly for R Strong (50), A Byrne for Kelly (50), C White for Plunkett (50), D Fox for Furlong (59), C Egan for Dempsey (59).

REF: N Ward (Westmeath).



SATURDAY, JUNE 1: Joule Park, Aughrim


SCORERS – Dublin: F Murray 0-6 (0-3f, 0-1 ‘45’), A Rogers 0-4, R O’Dwyer 0-3 (0-2f), L Curran 0-2, L Murphy-Guinane, S Kinsella, R Bolger, L Swan, R Keogh 0-1 each. Wicklow: S Daly 0-4, J Prendergast 1-1, M Ging 0-3 (0-2f), T Keogh 0-1.

DUBLIN: H O'Sullvan; C Tyrell, B Millist, C Archer; J Lundy, D O'Dowd, K Conroy; L Murphy-Guinane, S Forker; R O'Dwyer, S Kinsella, F Murray; R Bolger, L Swan, A Rogers. Subs: T Brennan for Kinsella (36), R Keogh for O'Dwyer (38), J Rooney for Lundy (43), L Curran for Bolger (45), H Colclough for Murphy-Guinane (62).

WICKLOW: A Nolan; D Healy, S Kearney, J Brady; D Cooney, T Moran, B Hickey; A Daly Danne, C McDonald; L Harney, S Daly, J Prendergast; E Doyle, J Kirwan, M Ging. Subs: E O'Neill for Kirwan (ht), C Fulham for Brady (ht), T Shanahan for Cooney (36), T Keogh for Kearney (50).

REF: S Mulhare (Laois).

Share This With Your Friends

Add To Facebook Share On Twitter