Connect With Dublin GAA

Visit DubsTV
County News
Minor hurlers overcome Antrim with plenty to spare

Minor hurlers overcome Antrim with plenty to spare

Sat, 16th June 2018


Dublin minor hurlers made it three wins on the bounce with this comfortable Leinster MHC quarter-final victory over Antrim in Dowdallshill, Louth on Saturday afternoon.

The Dubs led 2-3 to 0-3 at the break but put in an impressive scoring display of 1-13 to 0-1 in the second period to run out 21-point victors and book their berth in a provincial semi-final.

Both Leinster MHC semi-finals take place next Saturday: Offaly v Kilkenny; Wexford v Dublin (venues, times tbc).

Dara Purcell and Luke Swan hit the first half goals with early second half sub Seamus Fenton making a positive impact in the second half.

Swan gave his side the ideal start when he reacted well to deflect a long delivery from Liam Dunne to the Antrim net in the opening minute.

Thirteen minutes in Purcell showed his eye for goal with a good finish.

With  wind advantage in the second half Dublin moved out of sight with. However, they also had to thank keeper Jack Lambert for a penalty save just two minutes into the second half when denying Ryan Hill.

Sub Fenton raised a green flag in the 44th minute on his way to a personal tally of 1-3 from play as seven different scorers got on the scoresheet for Mike Connolly's side.

SCORERS – Dublin: D Purcell 1-4 (0-2f), S Fenton 1-3, L Swan 1-2, P Christie 0-3, L Dunne 0-2 (0-1f, 0-1 ‘65’), A O’Neill (0-1f), B McSweeney 0-1 each. Antrim: R Hill 0-3 (0-2f, 0-1 ‘65’), C Bohill 0-1.

DUBLIN: J Lambert; K Byrne, E Carney, F Murphy; C Hogan, A O’Neill, I O hEithir; D Leavy, D Power; P Christie, C Foley, C Murray; L Dunne, L Swan, D Purcell. Subs: S Fenton for Dunne (34), B McSweeney for Leavy (41), J Murray for Lambert (46), S Foran for Power (48), D Breslin for Swan (50).

ANTRIM: K McAuley; D Stevenson, A Gallagher, C Hargan; C Donnelly, D McCloskey, C McKernan; C O’Connor, N O’Connor; J McAllister, R McAleer, C Bohill; E McGrath, R Hill, D Murphy. Subs: C Crossan for McGrath (17), R McFarlane for N O’Connor (26), S O’Boyle for C O’Connor (36), C McQuillan for Hargan (48), G McIlhatton for McAleer (48).

REF: R Fitzsimons (Offaly).

Share This With Your Friends

Add To Facebook Share On Twitter