Connect With Dublin GAA

Visit DubsTV
County News
Minor hurlers ready for Championship opener

Minor hurlers ready for Championship opener

Fri, 14th April 2017

Reigning provincial holders, Dublin, begin their Electric Ireland Leinster MHC campaign against Laois in Parnell Park on Saturday (3.0).

It's a brand new side starting out as none of the starting team began in last year's All-Ireland semi-final clash against Limerick when the Dubs exited the competition having won the Leinster Championship.

However, Dublin's selection, managed by Lucan Sarsfields' Fintan Clandillon (pictured, above), contains both Sean Currie and Ben Coffey who did enjoy Championship action in 2016.

Sean is a younger brother of Colin Currie who starred for the minor hurlers last year while his Na Fianna club-mate Kevin Burke is a younger brother of current Dublin senior Donal, who also impressed with Dublin's minor hurlers in last year's campaign.

Davy Keogh, who featured last year, is currently sidelined through injury while David Hawkshaw, also involved last summer, has rugby commitments.

Laois have the advantage of one Championship match already to their credit as they defeated Offaly convincingly last weekend to set up Saturday's clash.

DUBLIN (MH v Laois)

1 Conor O'Donoghue (Ballyboden St Enda's)

2 Andrew Dunphy (St Brigid's)

3 Ben McHugh (Raheny)

4 Thomas Glynn (Ballyboden St Enda's)

5 Kevin Burke (Na Fianna)

6 Luke Walsh (Lucan Sarsfields)

7 Mark Grogan (Kilmacud Crokes)

8 Ben Coffey (Lucan Sarsfields)

9 Diarmaid O Floinn (Cuala)

10 Eoghan O'Neill (St Vincent's)

11 Emmet Allen (Lucan Sarsfields)

12 Micheal Murphy (Na Fianna)

13 Liam Murphy (Cuala)

14 Kevin Desmond (Ballyboden St Enda's)

15 Sean Currie (Na Fianna)

Share This With Your Friends

Add To Facebook Share On Twitter