Connect With Dublin GAA

Visit DubsTV
Club News
Na Fianna crowned U21 ‘A’ football champions

Na Fianna crowned U21 ‘A’ football champions

Sat, 9th December 2017

Na Fianna are Dublin U21 football 'A' champions for 2017 after overcoming Ballyboden St Enda's, 2-11 to 0-9, in O'Toole Park on Saturday afternoon.

This completes the clean sweep for the St Mobhi Road club of minor and U21 'A' titles in both codes this year, following the recent success of their U21 hurlers and before that both their minor footballers and hurlers. Their second adult football team also captured the Dublin IFC title this year. 

It was a well-contested duel but Na Fianna played with greater cohesiveness in attack, and were deserving winners, while in their defence Dublin senior hurlers Donal Burke and Shane Barrett were very secure, Burke in particular executing a couple of blocks and important intercepts with Boden threatening.

Na Fianna opened well with points from Gavin King and two from the impressive Seán Caffrey, son of 1983 All-Ireland SFC winner John.

However, a Colm Basquel free, following a foul on James Holland, and then a superbly struck '45' had Boden back in contention, 0-3 to 0-2.

Na Fianna though gave a glimpse of their goal threat when Aaron Byrne cannoned his effort of the crossbar.

Boden brought the game level with another Basquel free, this time after a foul on James Madden.

But Na Fianna reacted well with points form Glenn O'Reilly and Aaron Byrne, following good work by King and Eoin Murchan.

The first of Na Fianna's two goals came in the 25th minute when the influential Eoghan McHugh set in motion a move involving Peter Feeney and Caffrey before Caffrey slip the ball off for Alistair Fitzgerald to fire to the net and take a 1-5 to 0-3 lead.

Points from Basquel (free) and Warren Egan, Boden's first from play, cut the deficit while Basquel had another free waved wide when it looked to have curled over.

Gavin King's second point of the half gave Na Fianna a 1-6 to 0-5 interval lead but it could have been more as late on Caffrey hit the post with a goal attempt after Byrne and Feeney had combined.

A fine James Doran points saw Na Fianna restart on top before Boden fought back with scores from James Madden and Basquel (free).

Just at the midpoint of the second half Na Fianna made sure of victory when James Doran found the net from close range to make it 2-9 to 0-7.

St Margaret's held off a late Ballyboden St Enda's comeback to secure the Dublin U21FC 'C' title when winning 1-13 to 0-12 at Abbotstown on Saturday afternoon. 

Steven Sutton and Conor Hickey gave Margaret's a strong foundation at midfield and after leading 0-8 to 0-7 at the interval Rory Dwyer's goal proved crucial in their victory.

SCORERS - Na Fianna: S Caffrey 0-4, A Fitzgerald, J Doran 1-1 each, G King 0-2, G O'Reilly, A Byrne, J Treacy (0-1 '45') 0-1 each. Ballyboden St Enda's: C Basquel 0-5 (0-4f, 0-1 '45'), W Egan, J Madden, R McGarry, D Walsh 0-1 each.

NA FIANNA: J Treacy; P Feeney, S Barrett, P Wade; D Burke, E Murchan, C Doran; G O’Reilly, E McHugh; G King, A Byrne, P O’Dea; S Caffrey, A Fitzgerald, J Doran. Subs: D McHugh for O’Dea (47), P O’Hanlon for Burke (54), K McDonnell for Byrne (57), S Ryan for J Doran (59), C Caverly for E McHugh (60), L Stacey for Murchan (62).

BALLYBODEN ST ENDA’S: J Kane; S Clayton, C Murray, A Mellett; H Keller, B Bobbett, C O’Dea; J Holland, C O’Brien; L O’Donoghue, B McGarry, J Madden; W Egan, C Basquel, R McGarry. Subs: J Murphy for B McGarry (13), S Ward for Bobbett (46), D Walsh for O’Donoghue (48), M Dunne for Egan (62), N Hestor for Holland (63).

REF: J Dromgoole (Fingallians).

Share This With Your Friends

Add To Facebook Share On Twitter