Connect With Dublin GAA

Visit DubsTV
Club News
O’Dwyer’s impress in Junior 1 FC final victory over Monica’s

O’Dwyer’s impress in Junior 1 FC final victory over Monica’s

Sat, 26th September 2020

O’Dwyer’s outclassed St Monica’s when running out deserving 0-17 to 1-6 victors in Saturday’s Dublin Junior 1 FC final at Parnell Park.

The Balbriggan side played a very clever, enterprising game with the supremacy of their middle third giving them a dominant platform against their Edenmore opponents.

At midfield Jude O’Sullivan and Jamie Andrews provided a constant supply of possession while in attack Aaron Keenan, Jamie Andrews, Liam Prout and Daniel Doherty combined to telling effect with their half-back line of Dylan Foster, Jamie Keenan and Stephen Crawley attacking with potency to support their forward unit.

By half-time O’Dwyer’s led 0-12 to 0-3 with all Monica’s scores coming from Patrick Leonard frees. The Edenmore club did enjoy good passages of play but their shooting was not of its usual standard as they hit four wides insides the opening 15 minutes, compared to a sole wide by their opponents.

Some of O’Dwyer’s scoretaking was of a very high calibre as they put clear distance between the sides – after a semi-final victory over Geraldine Morans they were determined to finish off the job and they did that in style at the Donnycarney venue.

A productive spell in the opening half during which they hit seven unanswered points was central to their victory as their pace, accuracy and movement had Monica’s struggling to establish a foothold.

In the eight minute Aaron Keenan fired over following good work by Ciarán Gaye from a well directed Lee Fanning kickout – it was a signal of early intent.

Points followed from Aaron Keenan, Jamie Andrews and Liam Prout (free) as O’Dwyer’s move 0-5 to 0-1 clear by the water break as they made ground with Monica’s reduced to 14 men following the black-carding of Keith Dempsey.

The Balbriggan side continued to hold the upperhand with Jamie Andrews illustrating how clued into the zone his side were with a well timed intercept and score after playing a quick one-two with full-forward Liam Prout.

The scores continued to flow and by the interval they were in possession of a commanding 0-12 to 0-3 lead. Early in the second period two Ciarán Gaye points moved O'Dwyer's ten points clear, 0-14 to 0-4, after Monica's Philly Kelly had opened the second half scoring.

Just before the second half water break O’Dwyer’s looked sure to goal but Aaron Keenan’s shot clipped the outside of the post with Daniel Doherty unmarked in front of goal.

Then Aaron Keenan had an overhead flicked goal attempt come back of the post before Daniel Doherty had his goal attempt smothered and the ball was scrambled away to safety.

Monica’s though battled to the finish getting positive contributions off the bench.

Cian Doran struck a fine goal in the 26th minute following a good run from Karl Power but it was much too late as O’Dwyer’s ran out convincing eight-point winners.

SCORERS – O’Dwyer’s: A Keenan 0-5, L Prout 0-3 (0-3f), J O’Sullivan, J Andrews, D Doherty, C Gaye 0-2 each, D Andrews 0-1. St Monica’s: P Leonard 0-4 (0-3f), C Doran 1-1, P Kelly 0-1.


Wanderers captured their first adult football championship in 52 years when they overcame Ballyfermot DLS (1-10 to 0-8) in Saturday's Dublin JFC2 final at O'Toole Park.

The eventual winners led 0-8 to 0-4 at the break but Ballyfermot came roaring back in the second half with scores from Mark Smith (two) and a Keith Delaney '45' to reduce the gap to the minimum.

Barry Downey then opened Wanderers second half account with a point before Keith Delaney popped over his second point of the contest for Ballyfermot DLS.

In the final minute of normal time Ballyfermot created a goal-scoring opportunity but Mark Smith's effort was saved by Stephen Murray, Wanderers then counter-attacked to decisive effect with Barry Downey getting the match-winning goal, deflected on it's way to the net, with Liam Murphy's late free ensuring victory.

SCORERS – Wanderers: B Downey 1-3 (0-1f), L Murphy 0-3 (0-1 ‘45’ , 0-1f), D Delaney 0-2, P Reilly, D O’Donnell 0-1 each. Ballyfermot DLS: M Smith 0-3, C O’Sullivan (0-1f), K Delaney (0-1 ‘45’) 0-2 each, J Bracken 0-1.

Share This With Your Friends

Add To Facebook Share On Twitter