Connect With Dublin GAA

Visit DubsTV
Club News
Round-Up: Go-Ahead Dublin Under 21 Hurling Championships

Round-Up: Go-Ahead Dublin Under 21 Hurling Championships

Sun, 19th November 2023

Kilmacud Crokes advanced to the final of the Go-Ahead Dublin Under 21 ‘A’ Hurling Championship when accounting for Raheny by 2-22 to 1-13 at Silver Park on Saturday afternoon.

Brendan Scanlan proved their scorer-in-chief as he finished the game with eleven points to his name, five of which coming from open play.

The hosts also chipped in with goals at crucial times through Dara Purcell and Colm Crean while Conor Hughes also impressed as he added three points from play.

Crokes were also served well by Daniel Daly and Cian Ó Cathasaigh in defence while Lúc O’Loughlin and Brian Hayes delivered influential displays further up the field.

For Raheny, it proved a bridge too far despite the strong performances in their half-back line by Brian Dunne and Charlie McHugh while Ryan McGuirk battled heroically for possession around the middle third.

Thomas Hurley accounted for the bulk of their scores but his scoring contributions and those of Adam McAweeney and Mark Murphy proved in vain by the final whistle, despite Crokes having Scanlan and Daly dismissed on second yellows in the final quarter.

At the 12th Lock, Lucan Sarsfields pulled away in the second-half when defeating Naomh Barróg by 3-17 to 0-15.

The hosts led by 1-6 to 0-8 at the break with Sean Harkness netting for Lucan while goals after the break from Charlie Keher and Harkness saw Sarsfields pull away, with Finn Bruton in fine form for the winners.

The U21 ‘B’ championship saw St Oliver Plunkett’s/Eoghan Ruadh impress as they defeated neighbours Castleknock by 3-18 to 2-6 at Martin Savage Park.

The foundation for their win lay in their superb full-back line of Josh Maher, Conor Foley and Adam Boland while Jack O’Shea and Ben McSweeney were hugely influential at centre-back and midfield respectively for the winners.

Daragh Bolger was another to shine for Plunkett’s, who pulled away thanks to 2-10 from Ger Ryan, 1-1 from Dennis McSweeney and further points by Eoghan Byrne, Neil Clerkin, Ben McSweeney, Bugler, Michael Meehan and Ian McCormack.

The identity of their opponents in the final is still to be confirmed as Ballinteer St John’s and Faughs played out a 2-26 to 0-32 thriller in Marley Park.

Clontarf will meet St Jude’s in the ‘C’ decider as both teams enjoyed high-scoring wins over St Sylvester’s and Naomh Olaf respectively.

In Tymon Park, the likes of captain Fearghal Kilbane, Mick Foley, Cian Langan, Cuán Manning and Padraig McNally all excelled as St Jude’s defeated Naomh Olaf by 3-22 to 0-4.

Manning scored 1-5 from play and with Callum Graham and McNally adding 1-4 and 0-5 respectively, the hosts eased home with Sean McDonnell, Finbarr Wardick, Jack Crennan, Foley and Paul Nolan also on the scoresheet.

Scores were harder to find on Friday night as O’Toole’s progressed to the ‘D’ decider when edging Naomh Mearnóg by 0-10 to 0-8.

The hosts led by 0-8 to 0-2 at the break with Paddy Smith at corner-back, centre-back Fionn Rock, goalkeeper Ciaran Sheehy and Ryan Rooney at midfield all to the fore.

Full-forward Danny O’Mahony top scored with 0-6 (4f) with the Larriers scoring completed by Rock, Danny O’Loughlin, Rock, Mikey Farnham and Rooney.

U21 ‘A’ HC semi-finals: Lucan Sarsfields 3-17 Naomh Barróg 0-15; Kilmacud Crokes 2-22 Raheny 1-13.

U21 ‘B’ HC semi-finals: St Oliver Plunkett’s/ER 3-18 Castleknock 2-6; Ballinteer St John’s 2-26 Faughs 0-32 AET.

U21 ‘C’ HC semi-finals: St Sylvester’s 3-11 Clontarf 4-30; St Jude’s 3-22 Naomh Olaf 0-4.

U21 ‘D’ HC semi-finals: O’Toole’s 0-10 Naomh Mearnóg 0-8; Round Towers Clondalkin 1-19 St Brigid’s 1-9.

U21 ‘E’ HC semi-finals: Lucan Sarsfields 0-16 Ballyboden St Enda’s 3-14; Setanta 0-16 St Peregrine’s 0-20.

Share This With Your Friends

Add To Facebook Share On Twitter