Connect With Dublin GAA

Visit DubsTV
County News
Senior footballers and UCD serve up high-scoring duel

Senior footballers and UCD serve up high-scoring duel

Fri, 1st December 2017

DUBLIN 7-10 UCD 1-17

Dublin and UCD playing a high-scoring senior football challenge at UCD on Thursday night to mark the official opening of David Billings Park.

This pitch is named in honour of former Dublin, UCD and St Vincent’s stalwart Dave Billings, and with GAA president Aogan O Fearghail in attendance, both sides served up an entertaining tussle.

Several players who featured for the Dubs in this year's championship and/or league were involved such as David Byrne, Ciarán Reddin, Collie Basquel, Cormac Costello, Conor McHugh, Emmett O Conghaile and Shane Carthy (Nh Mearnóg).

They were bolstered by members of this year's All-Ireland U21 winning side Seán McMahon, Aaron Elliott and Glenn O'Reilly along with lads who were part of this year's O'Byrne Cup winning panel like John Brian Carthy, Eoin O'Brien, Ryan Deegan and Ross McGowan as well as two members of the 2016 minor team, Kevin Callaghan and Mal Tighe.

UCD settled better before Clann Mhuire’s Adam Rogers scored their first of Dublin's seven goal and by the interval a Cormac Costello goal had Dublin 2-7 to 0-11 ahead.

The students got level early in the second period following two points from Tom Hayes before the game turned into the Collie Basquel show as he scored a second half hat-trick to see Dublin run out 11-point victors.

Dublin footballers are next in action on Saturday, December 23 in the annual Dublin Bus/Herald Dubs Stars game, which is being hosted by St Vincent's (football 12.30; hurling 2.0).

SCORERS - Dublin: C Costello 2-3 (0-2f), C Basquel 3-0, A Rogers 1-3, E O Conghaile 1-0, R Deegan, C Reddin, C McHugh, G O’Reilly 0-1 each. UCD: E O’Carroll 1-3, E Lowry 0-3 (0-2f), P O’Connor, B Byrne, T Hayes, G Allen 0-2 each, L Casey, S Coen, B Daly 0-1 each.

DUBLIN: JB Carthy; E O’Brien, S McMahon, C Wilson; C Doyle, D Byrne, M Tighe; S Carthy, R Deegan; C Reddin, C Basquel, K Callaghan; A Rogers, C Costello, C McHugh. Subs: R McGowan, G Hannigan, D Devereux, S Ryan, E O Conghaile, A Elliott, G O’Reilly, K Doherty.

UCD: C Manton; L Silke, D Maguire, C O’Shaughnessy; T O’Sullivan, L Casey, J Feehan; J Barry, S Coen; B O Seannachain, P O’Connor, B Byrne; T Hayes, E O’Carroll, E Lowry. Subs: T O’Brien, E McGrath, J Rossiter, M Rennick, J Gillen, A Brennan, S Conlon, O Kelly, B Daly, P Fagan, G Allen, L Moran, S Meade, C Mullally.

REF: T Lambe (St Vincent’s).

Share This With Your Friends

Add To Facebook Share On Twitter