Connect With Dublin GAA

Visit DubsTV
County News
Senior Hurlers beat Galway to Claim Leinster Final Spot

Senior Hurlers beat Galway to Claim Leinster Final Spot

Sun, 26th May 2024

DUBLIN 2-27 

GALWAY 1-24 

Dublin claimed a place in the Leinster Senior Hurling Championship when accounting for 14-man Galway by six points in their Round 5 encounter at Pearse Stadium, Salthill on Sunday afternoon.

In total, fourteen players contributed to the Dublin tally with Dónal Burke leading the way with 1-10 as the Dubs progressed to a provincial decider meeting with Kilkenny on Saturday week.

Goals at opposite ends of the half from Seán Currie and Dónal Burke left Dublin well placed at the break as they trailed by 0-19 to 2-11, particularly given the benefit of the breeze that Galway enjoyed and also given the dismissal of home midfielder David Burke at the end of the first quarter.

A dominant start to the second-half that yielded six unanswered points saw the Dubs assume complete control of matters and while Galway netted through Declan McLoughlin in the 62nd minute, they rarely threatened to overturn their fortunes.

Despite Galway opening the scoring through Gavin Lee within fifteen seconds, Dublin struck back immediately as Seán Currie fired home at the second attempt following a strong run down the middle by Brian Hayes.

The pace of Hayes was a key feature of the opening half as Sean Linnane and Fergal Whitely exchanged points before the hosts began to take control of matters, backed by a strong breeze blowing towards Seán Brennan’s goal.

Galway struck seven points on the bounce through Evan Niland, Jason Flynn, Joseph Cooney, Conor Cooney and David Burke as they moved four points clear by the 15th minute.

A free from Dónal Burke helped settle Dublin a minute later and the visitors were further encouraged in the 17th minute as David Burke was dismissed for a high head challenge on Fergal Whitely.

Dónal Burke converted the resultant free and Chris Crummey added another point to leave the Dubs trailing by two points by the 19th minute.

While Galway replied through scores from Niland and Conor Whelan, Dublin were beginning to make the most of their numerical advantage as Dónal Burke clipped over a brace of sublime points to augment another fine effort by Conor Burke.

The teams continued to trade points with Dónal Burke, Hayes and John Bellew tagging on scores as the half progressed while Joseph Cooney, Cianan Fahy and Adrian Tuohy did likewise for the hosts.

Dublin threatened to break through on a couple of occasions and were rewarded for their perseverance as Dara Purcell slipped Dónal Burke through and the Na Fianna player did the necessary from twelve yards.

However, it was Galway that finished the half on a high with late points in reply by Fahy, Conor Cooney and Niland leaving them two points ahead by the interval.

That lead was whittled away within two minutes of the restart as Crummey and Ronan Hayes fired over early points and they pushed on through further scores by Purcell and Danny Sutcliffe.

A brace of placed balls by Dónal Burke edged Dublin four points clear before Niland replied with two frees of his own to leave two points between the teams by the 50th minute.

Substitute Power popped over a smart point prior to Crummey handing Dublin further breathing room when landing two inspirational points in quick succession.

Power and Dónal Burke kept Dublin on the front foot, despite McLoughlin netting at the opposite end and the contest finished with booming points from deep by Paddy Smyth and Conor Donohoe and further scores by Colin Currie and Dónal Burke as the visitors eased into the provincial decider by the final whistle.

Scorers – Dublin: D Burke 1-10 (0-3f, 0-2 ‘65’); C Crummey 0-4; S Currie 1-0; D Power 0-3; F Whitely, C Burke, B Hayes, J Bellew, R Hayes, D Purcell, D Sutcliffe, P Smyth, C Donohoe, C Currie 0-1 apiece. Galway: E Niland 0-8 (5f, 1 ‘65’); D McLoughlin 1-0; C Cooney 0-3; J Cooney, C Fahy, T Monaghan 0-2 each; G Lee, S Linnane, J Flynn, David Burke, C Whelan, P Mannion, A Tuohy 0-1 apiece.

Dublin: S Brennan; J Bellew, E O’Donnell, P Smyth; C Crummey, C Donohoe, P Doyle; B Hayes, C Burke; D Sutcliffe, D Burke, F Whitely; S Currie, R Hayes, D Purcell. Subs: D Power for Whitely (46), C Currie for Purcell (56), M Grogan for R Hayes (67), L Murphy for B Hayes (72).

Galway: D Fahy; J Grealish, Dáithí Burke, F Burke; A Tuohey, P Mannion, C Fahy; S Linnane, David Burke; G Lee, J Flynn, J Cooney; C Whelan, C Cooney, E Niland. Subs: C Mannion for Flynn (45), J Glynn for Linnane (45), T Monaghan for Flynn (49), D McLoughlin for J Cooney (60), R Glennon for Fahy (67).

Referee: Colm Lyons (Cork).

Share This With Your Friends

Add To Facebook Share On Twitter