Connect With Dublin GAA

Visit DubsTV
County News
Senior hurlers make changes for Walsh Cup duel with Laois

Senior hurlers make changes for Walsh Cup duel with Laois

Thu, 9th January 2020

Dublin have made five changes to their starting team for Thursday night's Walsh Cup encounter with Laois in Parnell Park (7.45).

The Dubs have used the Walsh Cup competition to 'run the rule' over players in advance of the commencement of the NHL and tweak their selection again following their victory last Sunday over Carlow (3-20 to 0-18).

Mattie Kenny's men have already recorded victories in the competition over both Westmeath and Carlow and currently top the group, the winner of the group advances to face Galway in the semi-final this Sunday, Wexford face Kilkenny in the other last-four tie.

Alan Nolan, Paddy Smyth, Riain McBride, Tom Connolly and Oisín O'Rorke come into Dublin's starting team for Thursday night's game in the alterations from the 15 that began against Carlow last Sunday at the Donnycarney venue.

DUBLIN (SH v Laois)

1 Alan Nolan St Brigid's
2 Andrew Dunphy St Brigid's
3 Paddy Smyth Clontarf
4 James Madden Ballyboden St Enda's
5 Paul Crummey Lucan Sarsfields
6 Daire Gray Whitehall Colmcille
7 Jake Malone Cuala
8 Riain McBride St Vincent's
9 Tom Connolly St Vincent’s
10 Fergal Whitely Kilmacud Crokes
11 Donal Burke Na Fianna
12 Ronan Hayes Kilmacud Crokes
13 Oisín O'Rorke Kilmacud Crokes
14 Mark Schutte Cuala
15 Eamonn Dillon Naomh Fionnbarra


16 Seán Brennan Cuala

17 Luke Corcoran Ballyboden St Enda's
18 Cian O'Callaghan Cuala
19 Kevin Burke Na Fianna
20 Conor Ryan Craobh Chiaráin
21 Alex O'Neill Round Tower, Clondalkin
22 David Keogh Thomas Davis
23 Lorcan McMullan Kilmacud Crokes
24 Cian Derwin Craobh Chiaráin
25 Cian Boland St Oliver Plunkett/Eoghan Ruadh
26 Enda O'Donnell Whitehall Colmcille



Round 1

Sunday, December 8 Kinnegad Westmeath 2-12 Carlow 0-14

Round 2

Sunday, December 15 TEG Cusack Park, Mullingar Westmeath 0-17 Dublin 1-22

Sunday, December 15 Netwatch Cullen Park, Carlow Carlow 0-22 Laois 3-19

Round 3

Sunday, January 5 Parnell Park Dublin 3-20 Carlow 0-18

Sunday, January 5 Borris-in-Ossory Laois 1-12 Westmeath 2-17

Round 1 (Rescheduled)

Thursday, January 9 Parnell Park Dublin v Laois, 7.45


Thursday, January 9

Walsh Cup SH Round Robin

Parnell Park (7.45) Dublin v Laois Ref: Barry Redmond (Wexford)

Friday, January 10

Andrew Corden Cup – GAA U20 Football Development League

Netwatch Training Centre Fenagh (7.45) Carlow v Waterford Ref: Stephen Fagan (Wicklow)

Saturday, January 11

O'Byrne Cup SF Semi Finals

Bord na Mona O'Connor Park (2.0) Offaly v Westmeath Ref: David Fedigan (Louth)

Glennon Bros Pearse Park (2.0) Longford v Dublin Ref: Alan Coyne (Westmeath)

(If sides finish level in O'Byrne Cup – a penalty competition for goals only will decide winner – no extra-time will be played in these games)

John Kerins Cup – GAA U20 Football Development League

LOETB Laois Centre of Excellence (2.0) Laois v Meath Ref: Dan Stynes (Dublin)

Manguard Plus Hawkfield Centre of Excellence (2.0) Kildare v Dublin Ref:David Hickey (Carlow)

Sunday, January 12

Walsh Cup SH Semi Finals

John Lockes Callan (2.0) Kilkenny v Wexford Ref: Seán Stack (Dublin)

Dublin/Laois/Westmeath (2.0) Dublin/Laois/Westmeath v Galway Ref: Patrick Murphy (Carlow

(If sides finish level in Walsh Cup - a penalty competition for goals only – will decide winner)

Kehoe Cup SH Final

Páirc Tailteann Navan (2.0) Antrim v Offaly Ref: James McGrath (Westmeath)

(If sides finish level in Kehoe Cup – a penalty competition for goals only – will decide winner)

Andrew Corden Cup - GAA U20 Football Development League

Moyle Rovers GAA (12.0) Tipperary v Wexford Ref: Niall Quinn (Clare)

Share This With Your Friends

Add To Facebook Share On Twitter