Connect With Dublin GAA

Visit DubsTV
County News
Seven Dubs included in Football All-Stars selection

Seven Dubs included in Football All-Stars selection

Thu, 1st November 2018

Dublin’s four in-a-row winning All-Ireland champions have been honoured with seven places on this year’s PwC All-Star Football team.

Jim Gavin’s all-conquering side are the dominant presence in a selection that sees Dublin claim seven awards across defence, midfield and attack, with Monaghan claiming three, Tyrone two and one place each awarded to Kerry, Galway and Donegal.

The Dublin representation includes the midfielder pairing of Raheny's Brian Fenton and Brian Howard – the first time two club-mates have been selected together at midfield.

The only previous times both midfielders were from the same county was in 1981 – Kerry’s Jack O’Shea and Seán Walsh and again in 1993 with Derry duo Anthony Tohill and Brian McGilligan.

The other Dubs honoured this year are Jonny Cooper, James McCarthy, Jack McCaffrey, Paul Mannion and Ciarán Kilkenny.

Dublin are now second in the Roll of Honour for All-Star winners in football with 123 All-Star awards in football, with Kerry leading on 141.

GAA President John Horan chaired a selection committee made up of senior Gaelic Games Correspondents last night. It should be noted that, in a change from the past, this year selectors were not restricted to selecting players for the final team in the positions they had been nominated in.

The announcement of the 2018 PwC All-Star Hurling team will be made live on Friday night, as will the announcement of the Footballer and Hurler of the Year and awards for Young Footballer and Young Hurler of the Year.

The player of the year awards are voted on exclusively by the players.

The nominees for these are Brian Fenton, Ciarán Kilkenny and Jack McCaffrey for Player of the Year and David Clifford, Brian Howard and Michael McKernan shortlisted for Young Player.

The Awards ceremony will be broadcast live on RTE1 this Friday from 7pm.



1 Rory Beggan (Monaghan)


2 Jonny Cooper (Dublin). Previous winner in 2016

3 Colm Cavanagh (Tyrone). Previous winner in 2017

4 Pádraig Hampsey (Tyrone)

5 Karl O’Connell (Monaghan)

6 James McCarthy (Dublin). Previous winner in 2014 & 2017

7 Jack McCaffrey (Dublin). Previous winner in 2015 & 2017


8 Brian Fenton (Dublin). Previous winner in 2015 & 2016

9 Brian Howard (Dublin)


10 Paul Mannion (Dublin). Previous winner in 2017

11 Ciarán Kilkenny (Dublin). Previous winner in 2015 & 2016

12 Ryan McHugh (Donegal). Previous winner in 2016

13 David Clifford (Kerry)

14 Conor McManus (Monaghan). Previous winner in 2013 & 2015

15 Ian Burke (Galway)

Dublin’s All-Stars Football List

1974 (6): Paddy Cullen, Seán Doherty, Robbie Kelleher, Paddy Reilly, David Hickey, Jimmy Keaveney

1975 (3): Gay O’Driscoll, Robbie Kelleher, Anton O’Toole

1976 (7): Paddy Cullen, Kevin Moran, Brian Mullins, Anton O’Toole, Tony Hanohoe, David Hickey, Bobby Doyle

1977 (9): Paddy Cullen, Gay O’Driscoll, Robbie Kelleher, Tommy Drumm, Pat O’Neill, Brian Mullins, Anton O’Toole, Bobby Doyle, Jimmy Keaveney

1978 (3): Robbie Kelleher, Tommy Drumm, Jimmy Keaveney

1979 (3): Paddy Cullen, Tommy Drumm, Bernard Brogan (senior)

1983 (4): Pat Canavan, Tommy Drumm, Barney Rock, Joe McNally

1984 (3): John O’Leary, PJ Buckley, Barney Rock

1985 (4): John O’Leary, Gerry Hargan, Barney Rock, Tommy Conroy

1987 (1): Kieran Duff

1988 (3): Mick Kennedy, Noel McCaffrey, Kieran Duff

1989 (1): Gerry Hargan

1991 (3): Mick Deegan, Tommy Carr, Keith Barr

1992 (3): Paul Curran, Eamon Heery, Vinnie Murphy

1993 (3): John O’Leary, Dermot Deasy, Charlie Redmond

1994 (3): John O’Leary, Jack Sheedy, Charlie Redmond

1995 (7): John O’ Leary, Paul Curran, Keith Barr, Brian Stynes, Dessie Farrell, Paul Clarke, Charlie Redmond

1996 (1): Paul Curran

1999 (1): Ciarán Whelan

2001 (1): Coman Goggins

2002 (3): Stephen Cluxton, Ray Cosgrove, Paddy Christie

2006 (2): Stephen Cluxton, Alan Brogan

2007 (4): Stephen Cluxton, Barry Cahill, Ciarán Whelan, Alan Brogan

2008 (1): Shane Ryan

2010 (1): Bernard Brogan

2011 (6): Stephen Cluxton, Kevin Nolan, Michael Darragh Macauley, Alan Brogan, Paul Flynn, Bernard Brogan (junior)

2012 (1): Paul Flynn

2013 (6): Stephen Cluxton, Rory O’Carroll, Cian O’Sullivan, Michael Darragh Macauley, Paul Flynn, Bernard Brogan (junior)

2014 (3): James McCarthy, Paul Flynn, Diarmuid Connolly

2015 (7): Rory O'Carroll, Philly McMahon, Cian O'Sullivan, Jack McCaffrey, Brian Fenton, Ciarán Kilkenny, Bernard Brogan (junior)

2016 (6): Jonny Cooper, Philly McMahon, Brian Fenton, Diarmuid Connolly, Ciarán Kilkenny, Dean Rock

2017 (7): Michael Fitzsimons, Cian O’Sullivan, Jack McCaffrey, James McCarthy, Dean Rock, Con O’Callaghan, Paul Mannion

2018 (7): Jonny Cooper, James McCarthy, Jack McCaffrey, Brian Fenton, Brian Howard, Paul Mannion, Ciarán Kilkenny

Share This With Your Friends

Add To Facebook Share On Twitter