Connect With Dublin GAA

Visit DubsTV
County News
Sheehan stars as minor ladies crowned Leinster champions

Sheehan stars as minor ladies crowned Leinster champions

Mon, 17th April 2017


Dublin's ladies footballers are the Leinster champions for an incredible seventh year in-a-row following their comprehensive provincial final victory over the Lilywhites at Clane on Monday.

Ballinteer St John's Niamh Sheehan was the architect-in-chief of Dublin's victory as she tallied a superb 4-2 in this Leinster Minor 'A' Championship decider.

All her goals came in the opening half as the Dubs led 5-8 to 1-6 at the interval. Dublin did most of the damage in a five-minute scoring blitz.

Between the 11th and 16th minutes of the opening half Dublin scored four goals to effectively decide the eventual outcome.

Sheehan scored her opening goal in the 11th minute and before Kildare had time to recover she had added a second.

Caoimhe O’Connor added Dublin’s third goal before Niamh completed her hat-trick of goals.

Shortly before the interval the St John's girl had added a fourth as Dublin led by 14 points at the break with Ciara O'Sullivan making it six in the second half.

SCORERS - Dublin: Niamh Sheehan 4-2, Caoimhe O'Connor, Clara O'Sullivan 1-1 each, Danielle Lawless 0-3, Dearbhla Snow 0-3 (0-2f), Jennifer Dunne, Eimear Loughlin, Aoibhe Bell 0-1 each.

DUBLIN: Heather Smith (Westmanstown Gaels); Shannon Murtagh (Fingallians), Rachel Brennan (St Peregrine's), Heather Bolger (Clontarf); Ella Thirroueiz (Clanna Gael Fontenoy), Siabh Hannigan (Parnell's), Sarah Fagan (Clontarf); Jennifer Dunne (Cuala), Eimear Loughlin (Cuala); Orla Martin (St Oliver Plunkett's/ER), Dearbhla Snow (Fingallians), Caoimhe O'Connor (Clontarf); Danielle Lawless (St Sylvester's), Niamh Sheehan (Ballinteer St John's), 15: Aoife Bell (Clontarf). Subs: Niamh Hetherton for Thirroueiz, Clara O'Sulluvan for Snow, Kate Sullivan for Bell, Ciara McDunphy for Martin, Sarah McMahon for Sheehan.

Share This With Your Friends

Add To Facebook Share On Twitter