Connect With Dublin GAA

Visit DubsTV
County News
Three Dubs shortlisted in Camogie All-Stars nominations

Three Dubs shortlisted in Camogie All-Stars nominations

Wed, 3rd October 2018

Dublin have three players shortlisted for the Camogie All-Stars awards 2018 while Premier Junior manager Shane Plowman has also been nominated for Manager of the Year.

The Dubs have defender Hannah Hegarty and forwards Orla Beagan and Siobhán Kehoe among the nominees.

All-Ireland finalists Cork and Kilkenny lead the shortlist. The final team will be announced at the 15th annual Camogie All-Stars Awards banquet, sponsored by Liberty Insurance in Citywest Hotel on Saturday, November 3.

Kilkenny receive 14 nominations. Goalkeeper Emma Kavanagh, defenders Grace Walsh, Anne Dalton, Catherine Foley, Edwina Keane, Colette Dormer, Claire Phelan and Davina Tobin are amongst the nominees for the Cats. Meighan Farrell is nominated at midfield, whilst Denise Gaule, Katie Power, Anna Farrell, Shelly Farrell and Michelle Quilty are nominated amongst the forwards.

Cork, who won a record 28th Senior All-Ireland title, receive 12 nominations. Goalkeeper Aoife Murray, defenders Pamela Mackey, Hannah Looney, Chloe Sigerson and Laura Treacy are amongst the nominees. Gemma O’Connor has been nominated at midfield and is seeking an incredible 11th All Star Award whilst Julia White and Libby Coppinger are also nominated at midfield. Orla Cotter, Orla Cronin, Amy O’ Connor and Katrina Mackey receive the forward nominations from Cork.

Tipperary and Galway both receive five nominations as a result of their run to the Semi-Finals. Galway have goalkeeper Sarah Healy, defenders Shauna Healy and Sarah Dervan, midfielder Niamh Kilkenny and forward Carrie Dolan nominated. Tipperary defenders Mary Ryan and Karen Kennedy are joined by forwards Orla O’ Dwyer, Cáit Devane and Grace O’ Brien on the list.

Waterford receive four nominations; defender Áine Lyng, midfielder Lorraine Bray and forwards Niamh Rockett and Beth Carton are all included.

Offaly have two nominations in defender Róisín Egan and forward Siobhán Flannery.

The nominees for the 2018 Soaring Stars Awards for the Intermediate and Premier Junior Championships will be announced later this week.

Nominees for the Camogie Association/WGPA Senior, Intermediate and Junior Players' Player of the Year Awards sponsored by Liberty Insurance will be announced next week.

Camogie All-Stars Awards 2018 sponsored by Liberty Insurance, nominees list:

Goalkeepers: Emma Kavanagh (Kilkenny), Aoife Murray (Cork), Sarah Healy (Galway).

Full-Back Line: Mary Ryan (Tipperary), Laura Treacy (Cork), Grace Walsh (Kilkenny), Shauna Healy (Galway), Catherine Foley (Kilkenny), Edwina Keane (Kilkenny), Sarah Dervan (Galway), Pamela Mackey (Cork), Colette Dormer (Kilkenny).

Half-Back Line: Karen Kennedy (Tipperary), Hannah Looney (Cork), Hannah Hegarty (Dublin), Claire Phelan (Kilkenny), Róisín Egan (Offaly), Anne Dalton (Kilkenny), Davina Tobin (Kilkenny), Áine Lyng (Waterford), Chloe Sigerson (Cork).

Midfield: Niamh Kilkenny (Galway), Gemma O’Connor (Cork), Lorraine Bray (Waterford), Meighan Farrell (Kilkenny), Julia White (Cork), Libby Coppinger (Cork).

Half-Forward Line: Orla Cotter (Cork), Orla O’ Dwyer (Tipperary), Siobhán Flannery (Offaly), Katie Power (Kilkenny), Orla Cronin (Cork), Denise Gaule (Kilkenny), Amy O’ Connor (Cork), Anna Farrell (Kilkenny), Niamh Rockett (Waterford).

Full-Forward Line: Orla Beagan (Dublin), Carrie Dolan (Galway), Cáit Devane (Tipperary), Shelly Farrell (Kilkenny), Katrina Mackey (Cork), Michelle Quilty (Kilkenny), Beth Carton (Waterford), Grace O’ Brien (Tipperary), Siobhán Kehoe (Dublin).

Manager of the Year 2018 sponsored by Liberty Insurance, nominees list: Paudie Murray (Cork), Shane Plowman (Dublin), Ann Downey (Kilkenny).

Share This With Your Friends

Add To Facebook Share On Twitter