Connect With Dublin GAA

Visit DubsTV
County News
Tipp cruise to win over Dubs on opening night of league

Tipp cruise to win over Dubs on opening night of league

Sun, 12th February 2017


An inexperienced Dublin side were outclassed by All-Ireland champions, Tipperary, in their opening NHL Division 1A encounter at Croke Park on Saturday night.

The Dubs, minus their Cuala contingent of eight plus several injuries, began with three of last year's Leinster MHC winning team in their starting 15.

However, Ger Cunningham's men started brightly and led 0-4 to 0-1 inside ten minutes after Niall McMorrow, Oisín O'Rorke, Fiontan McGibb and Donal Burke (free) had been on target.

The Dubs had a goal chance five minutes later when CIan O'Sullivan was put through on goal by Burke but failed to control the sliotar and the chance slipped away.

Despite one early goal effort from Seamus Callanan that first Shane Barrett and then Gary Maguire did very well to repel the Premier County were slow settling into the game.

But before the half-time interval they had assumed control and were five points clear. It was a domination they continued after the break despite the brilliance of Eoghan O'Donnell at full-back with debutant Aidan McCormack hitting five points from play on a night to remember for him.

The pressure was incessant at times in the second half but O'Donnell in particular continued to impress with All Star Seamus Callanan held scoreless from play.

Seven minutes from time though Jason Forde fired to the Dublin net past Gary Maguire and at this stage Tipp were now 1-20 to 0-7 up.

Eamonn Dillon, returning from an injury lay-off, came off the bench in the second half and marked the occasion with a late goal following clever work by Donal Burke. Before the finish Dublin defender Shane Barrett was dismissed.

SCORERS – Tipperary - S Callanan 0-8 (0-8f), Jason Forde 1-3, A McCormack 0-5, P Maher 0-2, K Bergin, T Hamill, N McGrath, J O’Dwyer(0-1f), S Curran, N O’Meara 0-1 each. Dublin: D Burke 0-3 (0-3f), E Dillon 1-0, N McMorrow 0-2, C Crummey O O’Rorke, F McGibb 0-1 each.

DUBLIN: G Maguire; P Smyth, E O’Donnell, S Barrett; C Crummey, L Rushe, S McGrath; B Quinn, D Fox; C O’Sullivan, N McMorrow, R O’Dwyer; O O’Rorke, D Burke, F McGibb. Subs: J Madden for S McGrath 42; E Dillon for C O’Sullivan 46; R McBride for D Fox 50; C Conway for O O’Rorke 55; A Quinn for F McGibb 63.

TIPPERARY: D Mooney; D Maher, J Barry, J O’Keeffe; T Hamill, R Maher, P Maher; B Maher, K Bergin; S O’Brien, Jason Forde, N McGrath; J O’Dwyer, S Callanan, A McCormack. Subs: M Cahill for J O’Keeffe 51; S Curran for S O’Brien 54; N O’Meara for S Callanan 54; B Heffernan for R Maher 56, D Quinn for P Maher 59.

REF: P O'Dwyer (Carlow).

Share This With Your Friends

Add To Facebook Share On Twitter