Connect With Dublin GAA

Visit DubsTV
County News
U20 footballers unchanged for Leinster semi-final against Meath

U20 footballers unchanged for Leinster semi-final against Meath

Fri, 21st February 2020

Dublin have named an unchanged team for Saturday's Leinster U20FC semi-final at Parnell Park (2.0).

The Dubs have beaten Wicklow and Longford en route to Saturday's provincial last-four and now face a significant step up in class.

Late goals by Ciarán Archer and sub Conor Kinsella put a gloss on Dublin's 3-10 to 0-9 victory over Longford last weekend after the sides had been level at the break.

Looking ahead to Saturday's clash Dublin manager Tom Gray said: "Meath are an exceptionally good team with a lot of strong forwards.

"We recognise that we have to improve but we are very much looking forward to it," added Tom.

The counties met earlier this season in the opening round of the John Kerins U20 Football Development League when Meath prevailed 2-13 to 2-11 in Dunganny.

First half goals from Kieran McKeon and Kieran Murphy helped Dublin to a 2-8 to 1-4 lead with Jordan Morris hitting the Royal County goal.

Both sides made several changes for the second half and made some alterations later in the period as Meath took control in the final 15 minutes with Dylan Keating’s 59th minute goal helping Meath to victory.

A lot of the players who will feature this Saturday will be somewhat familiar with each other having clashed in the Leinster MFC last year and also in 2018.

Last year Dublin came with a strong finish with Luke Swan's goal helping his side to a 4-10 to 2-10. While the previous year Meath came out on top, 1-13 to 2-8.

DUBLIN (U20FC v Meath)
1 Josh O'Neill
St Vincent's
2 Alan Murphy Lucan Sarsfields
3 Adam Rafter Na Fianna
4 Josh Bannon St Sylvester's
5 Rory Dwyer St Margaret's
6 Adam Waddick Thomas Davis
7 Lee Gannon Whitehall Colmcille
8 Killian McGinnis Skerries Harps
9 Evan Caulfield Clanna Gael Fontenoy
10 Mark Lavin Lucan Sarsfields
11 Lorcan O'Dell Templeogue Synge St
12 Seán Foran Whitehall Colmcille
13 Ciarán Archer St Maur's
14 Luke Swan Castleknock
15 Kieran McKeon Clontarf

Share This With Your Friends

Add To Facebook Share On Twitter