Connect With Dublin GAA

Visit DubsTV
County News
Senior Footballers are 2024 Leinster Football Champions after defeating Louth

Senior Footballers are 2024 Leinster Football Champions after defeating Louth

Sun, 12th May 2024


LOUTH 2-12

A 55th minute goal by Con O’Callaghan helped Dublin complete an ultimately comfortable four-point victory over Louth in their Leinster Senior Football Championship final at Croke Park on Sunday afternoon.

In doing so, the Dubs secured a fourteenth successive provincial title but they were pushed all the way by a hugely committed and organised Louth team.

It was the underdogs that entered the break with a narrow 0-7 to 0-6 advantage and a 45th minute goal by Ciarán Keenan added further momentum to their challenge.

However, O’Callaghan was on hand to settle Dublin nerves with a cracking goal ten minutes later, with the concession of a late goal to Craig Lennon a source of annoyance to the Dubs by the final whistle.

The Dubs played with the benefit of a strong breeze at their backs in the opening-half but failed to utilise it initially with their opponents opening the scoring in the 6th minute through a well-struck free by Sam Mulroy.

Brian Fenton replied for Dublin in an instant but with Louth enjoying their fair share of possession in the early stages, they countered well to restore their lead through Ciarán Downey in the 8th minute.

A Cormac Costello free restored parity three minutes later and Fenton once again found space behind a heavily-manned Louth defence to edge Dublin in front for the first time.

Louth continued to impress however, levelling through Tommy Durnin in the 14th minute before Colm Basquel and Mulroy exchanged points early in the second quarter.

With Dublin kicking some uncharacteristic wides, their opponents took full advantage with Conor Grimes kicking two excellent points to retore Louth’s lead while Fenton added his third score of the half in riposte.

A Con O’Callaghan point in the 33rd minute looked to have ensured an interval stalemate but the half finished as it had begun with Mulroy kicking another long-distance free to leave Louth 0-7 to 0-6 ahead at the turnaround.

The Dubs resumed on the front foot through early points from Paul Mannion and Costello (free) and a Ciarán Kilkenny point in the 40th minute appeared to have the holders back on track.

However, Louth refused to buckle at this point as Mulroy curled over a glorious point and hopes of an upset were further enhanced as Ciaran Keenan burst through before showing great composure in rounding Stephen Cluxton and slotting into the gaping goal.

In fairness to Dublin, their response to this body blow was impressive as they kicked two points in as many minutes through O’Callaghan and Costello with Louth refusing to bow to their seemingly inevitable fate thanks to further scores from Grimes and Mulroy.

The decisive moment arrived in the 55th minute as substitute Jack McCaffrey seized on a misplaced clearance, allowing O’Callaghan the time and space to crash and unerring finish across Niall McDonnell from eight yards.

O’Callaghan, Costello and Paddy Small put further distance between the teams but Louth gained reward for their efforts in injury time as Lennon palmed home at the back post, a positive ending to a brave showing from Ger Brennan’s side.

Scorers – Dublin: C O’Callaghan 1-4 (0-1 mark); C Costello 0-6 (0-4f); B Fenton 0-3; S Bugler, T Lahiff, P Mannion, C Basquel, C Kilkenny, P Small 0-1 apiece. Louth: S Mulroy 0-6 (5f); C Grimes 0-4; C Keenan, C Lennon 1-0 each; C Downey, T Durnin 0-1 apiece.

Dublin: S Cluxton; C Murphy, M Fitzsimons, E Murchan; T Lahiff, J Small, S Bugler; B Fenton, J McCarthy; C Kilkenny, C Costello, N Scully; P Mannion, C O’Callaghan, C Basquel. Subs: J McCaffrey for Scully (49), P Small for Basquel (49), B Howard for Lahiff (64), R McGarry for Bugler (64), K McGinnis for Mannion (71).

Louth: N McDonnell; D Corcoran, P Lynch, D McKenny; N Sharkey, A Williams, C McKeever; T Durnin, C Grimes; C Downey, B Duffy, C Lennon; L Grey, S Mulroy, C Keenan. Subs: D Campbell for Sharkey (49), C Early for Williams (56), C Byrne for Durnin (59), R Burns for Keenan (59), L Jackson for Grey (65).

Referee: Noel Mooney (Cavan).

Share This With Your Friends

Add To Facebook Share On Twitter